Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Fish Disease Treatment
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 10/17/2010, 04:02 PM   #1
desx2501
Registered Member

Exclamation Pale Fish -> Dead Fish

Hi,
I'm new to the hobby, so is my aquarium. Here are infos :
It's a 55g tank, and my only equipment are: a heater, a tetra whisper ex70 filter, 2 lights (not the coral ones). I do NOT have a skimmer yet, was planning to buy one in about a month since the guy at the aquarium store told me I would be fine without one for about 3 months if I don't have many fishes.
It has some live rocks in it, with some coralline algae.
The pH is around 8.1-8.3, the salinity is fine with 1.022 specific units, the ammonia, Nitrite/Nitrate levels are so low they don't read in the tests. I'm past the ammonia/nitrite/nitrate spike.

I've had 7 marine hermit crabs and 1 snail in it for about 3 weeks.
I feed them 2-3 times daily, then I added 2 fish one week ago : one clown fish and a coral beauty.

The Coral beauty has been shy since she's in there, always hidden in the liverocks. Yesterday, we've noticed that the coral beauty was a bit pale.

I just found the coral beauty dead at the bottom of the tank, on the side, with an hermit crab on her. I don't think the hermit killed her, but I have no clues what might have caused her to die.

I would like your input so I can make sure the same faith doesn't happen to the clown fish. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Xavier

desx2501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10/17/2010, 04:53 PM   #2
Ethan Music
Registered Member