Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 03/07/2010, 09:00 PM   #1
n0rk
More is better-er!

n0rk's LED/ZEO Pico Experiment

Hola I've been reading RC for many years, finally felt it was a good time to post a build thread of one of my tanks. I've been keeping reefs for a few years now, with some measurable success in various facets, only just recently got into the world of keeping SPS though. Recently saw a thread over on another reefing site which shall not be named for "pico methodology", essentially working out what works and what does not... what better time to test a bunch of outlandish and ridiculous ideas than that I guess? Basically, this is far from science, if anything this is just stupidity manifest itself in a big ball of hopefulness and possibly too much wasted cash...
  • TANK: 21L (5.5g) "Goldfish Learner" AGA (14x12x10" display area)
  • SUMP: In-tank behind false wall, approx. 1/3 total tank volume
  • LIGHTING: DIY Cree XP-G/XP-E build (5x XP-G R4 Cool White, 4x XP-E Royal Blue)
  • FILTRATION: Octopus Nano NW-80, 2.2lb premium Fiji live rock, 1" Caribsea Seaflor Special SSB, ZEOvit method
  • CIRCULATION: AquaOne 102 500L/h (with handbuilt flow accelerator), AquaOne 200 300L/h HOB (soon to be ZEOlite reactor)
  • STOCKING: SPS out the nose, son. Most likely a mix of Acropora and Montipora, perhaps with a Seriatopora hystrix if I can snag a frag off of my coral supplier.