Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Seahorses & Pipefish
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 11/12/2012, 04:08 PM   #1
JoeSpeez
Registered Member

Seahorse temp. question

I have two horses and two pipfish. i have a few zoas, some gargonians and a couple of other corals. My question is do i need to keep the tank at a certain temp. and if so what would that temp be. and if it would affect everything differently? i do know that they like cooler water but i dont know a specific temp. any help would be very appreciated.

Posted from ReefCentral.com App for Android

JoeSpeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/12/2012, 09:09 PM   #2
funkejj
Registered Member

Keep it 74 degrees or under to prevent bacterial issues with the horses. He corals will be ok we have the same.

funkejj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/12/2012, 10:06 PM   #3
JoeSpeez
Registered Member

thanks very much. now like i said im new to all of this so this might sound stupid but i do that with a heater or something else like a chiller? and if so where would i get something like that at

Unread 11/12/2012, 11:50 PM   #4
rayjay
Registered Member

Latest recommendations temperature wise are to run seahorse tanks between 68° and 74° to LESSEN the influence of bacteria like vibriosis.
These bacteria grow exponentially with each rising degree in temperature, especially above 74°.
That is not to say that there aren't successes at higher temperature, but the odds of success diminish as the temperature rises.
You are already bucking the odds by mixing seahorses and pipe fish which again is not recommended but sometimes works.
As I don't keep my home below 68°, I don't have heaters in any of my seahorse tanks, but for those who have homes that get above 74°, then a chiller is the way to go. You could buy one online or from an LFS.

Current Tank Info: Seahorses
rayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/13/2012, 10:21 PM   #5