Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 06/05/2017, 01:53 PM   #2501
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
So far so good, I altered some things to add an analog pH sensor. Next up: checking to switch the dosing code for steppermotor/3d-printed dosing pumps...



ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/05/2017, 03:25 PM   #2502
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen67 View Post
I figured it out and got it up and running.
Jerry what are you using for transistors in your fan power circuit in version 2? I can't quite make them out but looks like a 2n3904 (Q1) for the NPN and I can quite make out the PNP (Q2). Will these work on version 1 in place of the BC338 and BC328. It looks like they are obsolete. I can probable find them on the gray market (broker world). Then again I am trying to go all SMT parts except the connectors.

Thanks again for all you hard work, This is great!
I thought I answered this. I guess I probably forgot to click submit. I have to look up the part number of the fet I used again and get back to you later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen67 View Post
Jerry what would it take to support Vortech wave makers? Are they controlled similar to the Jabao's?
I have no info on how to interface with vortech. If someone can provide the info, I can look into it.


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/09/2017, 02:52 AM   #2503
aronj2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 45
thinking of ditching my jayfish diy for this project..
is it do-able with little to no arduino knowledge?
and do u guys all use genuine arduino hardware and shields? or can i be a cheapskate and buy a compatible 1, with non-original shield.. for testing this project before spending a lot on original hardware..

i do have loads of relay (normal and SSR, 12v and 5v versions)
lots of ds18b20 (the non-p)

i assume i can use this?

if so.. ill order a mega now (i only have 2 uno and a nano in house)


aronj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/10/2017, 01:34 AM   #2504
stephen67
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11
It uses the Arduino Mega 2560. He has it well documented. If you download the latest from his GitHub, he has most of the files already modified. It's only 1 file you have to configure.


stephen67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/10/2017, 01:36 AM   #2505
SorsCode
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 132
aronj2 - I used a clone of the Arduino Mega 2560, with no issues.


SorsCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/10/2017, 11:58 AM   #2506
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Stepperdoser succes!

I think for now I will keep my Led controller separate.I'm not skilled enough to add it to the html to be able to control the leds with the webservice...

I have one question about the temperature configuration of the heater, fans...: If I use degrees celcius for my sensor (#define CELCIUS), can I use Celcius as ranges in the config file, or do i have to use Fahrenheit?


ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/10/2017, 02:40 PM   #2507
fish_whisperer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
This is great. I have an arduino lying around. Might need to see if I can attempt something something like this.


fish_whisperer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/11/2017, 01:56 PM   #2508
aronj2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 45
still getting errors when compiling..

not blaming the software AT ALL!
this is probably me doing something wrong..

i ordered all the stuff i need (mega / ethernet shield with SD,, ds1307 (wich was not easy to get locally) i have resistors / ph module with probe / ds18b20 5x / lots of relays with connectors hooked up)

i really hope i can manage to get this working, will try tommorow (will need couple of hours to think this errors over)


aronj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/11/2017, 01:57 PM   #2509
aronj2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 45
Chauvet16:34: error: 'LiquidCrystal_I2C' does not name a type
Chauvet16.ino: In function 'void setup()':
Chauvet16:165: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Chauvet16.ino: In function 'void loop()':
Chauvet16:209: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Apex.ino: In function 'boolean apex_status_json_handler(TinyWebServer&)':
Apex:351: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Network.ino: In function 'void logNetworkAccess(TinyWebServer&)':
Network:552: error: 'class EthernetClient' has no member named 'getRemoteIP'
Utils.ino: In function 'void initLCD()':
Utils:190: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Utils.ino: In function 'void p(const __FlashStringHelper*)':
Utils:211: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Utils:215: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Utils:219: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Utils.ino: In function 'boolean psensors()':
Utils:233: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Utils.ino: In function 'void ptime(time_t)':
Utils:299: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Utils:308: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Utils.ino: In function 'void pinputs()':
Utils:329: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Utils.ino: In function 'void poutlets()':
Utils:338: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Utils.ino: In function 'void ppwmpump(uint8_t)':
Utils:371: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope
Utils.ino: In function 'void pdebug()':
Utils:402: error: 'lcd' was not declared in this scope


aronj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/11/2017, 03:11 PM   #2510
aronj2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 45
solved but now different error codes..

the issue above is it didnt load liquidcrystal library for some strange reason


aronj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/12/2017, 08:13 AM   #2511
aronj2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 45
i was retarded..
it compiled without error code now..
will try to upload when my mega arrive tommorow


aronj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/15/2017, 12:50 AM   #2512
aronj2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 45
all is working.. as long as i sticked to the plan exactly..

1 question for tje people who use this,
wich camera"s are supported?
i see u can just put a link in it? is any cheap chinese ip cam supported?


aronj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/15/2017, 01:41 PM   #2513
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Anybody any experience with jebao crossflow pumps with the controller?

Also when working with celcius temperature, can I set the max and min temperature in celcius or should I calculate the fahrheit equivalent? Thanks


ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/15/2017, 03:27 PM   #2514
aronj2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 45
i have 2cp 40's.. the cp40 for all i know is taking the exact same pwm as the return pumps.. didnt test it


aronj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/15/2017, 05:20 PM   #2515
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
this will not work with crossflow, dct and dcp pumps.
I have another diy project for that, but is on hold for now.
I think if you use celsius, then everything is in celsius


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/15/2017, 11:31 PM   #2516
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by d0ughb0y View Post
this will not work with crossflow, dct and dcp pumps.
I have another diy project for that, but is on hold for now.
I think if you use celsius, then everything is in celsius
Thanks!


ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/17/2017, 07:21 PM   #2517
stephen67
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11
Jerry are you using a buck to supply 5 volts to the relay board or it's own 5 volt isolated supply.. I guess my question is can you use a buck. trying to make things compact. Got my controller PCB designed and in and built just trying to make everything fit. I've got I've got 3 inches to spare.

Thanks


stephen67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/23/2017, 06:56 PM   #2518
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen67 View Post
Jerry are you using a buck to supply 5 volts to the relay board or it's own 5 volt isolated supply.. I guess my question is can you use a buck. trying to make things compact. Got my controller PCB designed and in and built just trying to make everything fit. I've got I've got 3 inches to spare.



Thanks


I modified it a few times, I can't remember what I use. I'm pretty sure I have a 12v buck power supply in there, can't remember if I have another 5v buck in there or not.

The final wiring is up to you as long as it is powered and working.


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/23/2017, 07:03 PM   #2519
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
I forgot about this feature of this controller. For those of you who have this controller already running, you can download the Neptune Apex smartphone app (not the Apex Fusion app). This is one of the main feature of this controller, hence the thread title Neptune Apex web interface compatible controller.

I just set this up on my controller. Ignore the ph, I have to fix that still. Anyway, the nice thing with this app is, you can view graphs of your temp and ph back to 7 days or however long you configured it on the app.






d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/06/2017, 01:37 PM   #2520
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Jerry,

I am almost finished with building my controller. Next to the mega, I will use a teensy 3.2 to control my led lights for the display tank and for the refugium. I would like it very much if i could connect this to the arduino mega chauvet via tx/rx.

I would love to use a similar aproach in the web app to put the channels of the led either on, off or on auto. Without having ability to configure them with the app.

So I guess a lot of the stuff from the outlets is reusable in the htm file and in the chauvet.

Could you please point me in the right direction as to where I might find the html parts in the htm file? I think I will find the arduino code on my own.

Many thanks!


ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/07/2017, 12:55 PM   #2521
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
I see the picture links to photobucket are broken.
they want a ransom of $400 to get the links to work again.

for now, you can browse the album directly. be prepared to get a boatload of questionable looking ads.

http://s1193.photobucket.com/user/je...ary/controller

schematics are in github page.

https://github.com/d0ughb0y/Chauvet16


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/21/2017, 03:53 PM   #2522
Tandokude
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: MD
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by d0ughb0y View Post
I see the picture links to photobucket are broken.
they want a ransom of $400 to get the links to work again.

for now, you can browse the album directly. be prepared to get a boatload of questionable looking ads.

http://s1193.photobucket.com/user/je...ary/controller

schematics are in github page.

https://github.com/d0ughb0y/Chauvet16
I was actually just about to post to ask about those. Granted I have not read through all 100 pages of this thread, but is there an alternative to using the Chauvet SR-08 Relay pack since it may be harder to find?


Tandokude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/21/2017, 04:57 PM   #2523
karimwassef
Registered Member
 
karimwassef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 11,033
so are those links broken permanently?


__________________
Failure isn't an option It's a requirement. 660g 380inwall+280smp/surge S/L/Soft/Maxima/RBTA/Clown/Chromis/Anthias/Tang/Mandarin/Jawfish/Goby/Wrasse/D'back. DIY 12' Skimmer ActuatedSurge ConcreteScape
karimwassef is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/21/2017, 10:56 PM   #2524
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by karimwassef View Post
so are those links broken permanently?


The links are fixed for now.


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/21/2017, 11:02 PM   #2525
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tandokude View Post
I was actually just about to post to ask about those. Granted I have not read through all 100 pages of this thread, but is there an alternative to using the Chauvet SR-08 Relay pack since it may be harder to find?


I think the Chauvet relay has been discontinued.
I am thinking the best option is to DIY your own case using 1/4" acrylic. I've never diy'ed acrylic before so I don't know how hard or easy it is, but I'll probably give it a try. I see lowes sells 24"x18" 0.22" thick acrylic for $24. I might buy one and some weld on 4 and try to make a box.


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2024 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2022
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.