Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Aquaforest
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 06/25/2016, 07:54 PM   #1
reefmutt
Registered Member

Probiotic vs reef salt

Hi, I've been using the probiotic reef salt for about 6 months in my sps tank. I am happy with the salt but not sure i really need to be using the probiotic salt since i dose np pro and pro bio s.
I am considering using the reef salt instead.
I notice that the reef salt does not contain bromides.
I do not know what the significance of this is. I assume bromides interact with ozone in a detrimental way based on the product description on the reef salt bucket..
Will my tank become bromide deficient if i switch to the reef salt from the probiotic?
Are bromides a necessary element to have in my reef?
Does the reef salt have the same chemical make up and alkalinity levels as the probiotic salt except for the lack of bromides and the probiotic material?

Any info would be greatly appreciated..
Thanks in advance..

Current Tank Info: 53x32.5x26 190g dt 60g of sumps 3 tank-100 gal frag system 6xAI prime 8xt5. 4x maxspect gyre. Skimz Dual internal sicce pump skimmer Deltec PF601s ca rx+Kalk stirrer
reefmutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/26/2016, 05:12 AM   #2
plyle02
Registered Member

Hey Matt,