Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 07/19/2018, 07:06 PM   #1
Jackooze
Registered Member

NoPox Help

Looking for some advice using this product.

I’ve been dosing Nopox now for two months with great results but haven’t been able to fine tune it yet. My No3 have gone down to .75 and Po4 is at .16. Right now I am dosing 1ml daily and not sure what dosage I should continue using. I have a sps only tank Which requires No3 to be 5-10ppm and Po4 should be 0. So here’s my question, if I increase dosage it will decrease my nitrates and phosphates but how do I get nitrates to stay at 5 and reduce phosphates to 0 ?

Reef Octo 110S
Vortechs MP40's
Jackooze is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/19/2018, 08:01 PM   #2
Uncle99
Crab Free Zone

NoPox increases beneficial bacteria which reduces nitrate. It does the same on phosphate but I have found in the last year it does seem to have a great effect on phosphates.
If your nitrates are now to low, then you could increase feeding or reduce the NoPox dose, but if you go this way....change real slow.

I use ROWA GFO to manage phosphates to undectable, took a week, but the stuff ain't cheap.

The goal of NoPox ( or any other carbon dosing) is to "manage" nitrate levels, .75 is real low, so maybe you need only 1/2ml, or maybe not at all now. Just be careful, your playing with your bacteria so make real small changes.

When my nitrate finally got to 15ppm, I went from 10ml to 11ml and now I am back at 5ppm.

Last edited by Uncle99; 07/19/2018 at 08:09 PM.
Uncle99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/19/2018, 09:35 PM   #3
bertoni
RC Mod