Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 02/12/2018, 07:44 PM   #1
gfox2
Registered Member
 
gfox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 326
Gyre controller firmware update?

How often do you update firmware on your Gyre controllers?


gfox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 04:45 PM   #2
gfox2
Registered Member
 
gfox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfox2 View Post
How often do you update firmware on your Gyre controllers?
Anyone ever update theirs?


gfox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/14/2018, 07:56 AM   #3
gfox2
Registered Member
 
gfox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 326
It looks like no one updates their firmware here.


gfox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/14/2018, 10:16 AM   #4
mako61
Registered Member
 
mako61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 356
I have a gyre. Pretty new so i havent check firmware.
In general -- unless I have an issue / want a new feature I dont update firmware. It a risk/pain and for that I want a reward lol


__________________
Thanks,
Mako

Current Tank Info: Returning Reefer - Red Sea 525XL, Mitras LX7s, Apex, check homepage for vids of tank
mako61 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02/14/2018, 11:25 AM   #5
gfox2
Registered Member
 
gfox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by mako61 View Post
I have a gyre. Pretty new so i havent check firmware.
In general -- unless I have an issue / want a new feature I dont update firmware. It a risk/pain and for that I want a reward lol
I didn't know anything about it til i had a problem with my controller.Nothing in the manual about it.You need a sandisk flash card that cost $13.99.


gfox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/14/2018, 11:55 AM   #6
reefteaser
Convince'em or confuse'em
 
reefteaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: S FL
Posts: 238
Hereís my experience, ymmv.
I tried to upgrade to v1.7 per the instructions several times, no joy. I contacted Coralvue and all Carlos could tell me was info already posted on their website, and then that I must be using a bad or wrong card (I wasnít). BRS, where I bought my 250, was no help beyond offering to return it, which I eventually did. When I got a replacement it was the same story. I was very frustrated, especially since I like the gyre very much, but the upgrade drove me crazy.
Then, I read in an on line forum about someone who got it to work by unplugging the power brick from the wall, not just from the cord that plugs into it. It shouldnot make a difference, but magically the upgrade finally took. I donít understand why, but it finally worked.
The upgrade makes the font larger and turns off the display after a while. Itís supposed to fix some other bugs as well. Pushing anything wakes it up, and Iíve became very adept at programming. After adding a second pump I tried the OGC and LTC modes, but went back to my own program.
Good luck!


reefteaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/14/2018, 01:50 PM   #7
gfox2
Registered Member
 
gfox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by reefteaser View Post
Hereís my experience, ymmv.
I tried to upgrade to v1.7 per the instructions several times, no joy. I contacted Coralvue and all Carlos could tell me was info already posted on their website, and then that I must be using a bad or wrong card (I wasnít). BRS, where I bought my 250, was no help beyond offering to return it, which I eventually did. When I got a replacement it was the same story. I was very frustrated, especially since I like the gyre very much, but the upgrade drove me crazy.
Then, I read in an on line forum about someone who got it to work by unplugging the power brick from the wall, not just from the cord that plugs into it. It shouldnot make a difference, but magically the upgrade finally took. I donít understand why, but it finally worked.
The upgrade makes the font larger and turns off the display after a while. Itís supposed to fix some other bugs as well. Pushing anything wakes it up, and Iíve became very adept at programming. After adding a second pump I tried the OGC and LTC modes, but went back to my own program.
Good luck!
I didn't know about the firmware upgrade til i had a problem with mine and contacted Carlos at Coral-vue.The problem i been having was when i used the feed mode it would go to the off position.I haven't found in my manual about the firmware upgrade.I was ****ed about if i wanted to upgrade the firmware i would have to spend another $13.99 on their product.


gfox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.