Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 03/29/2015, 05:30 PM   #1
Borges1492
Registered Member

Drilling Out My Tank

Hey everyone i am new to the saltwater world and i currently have a 20 gal IM Nuvo Fusion tank with a Radion XR15 pro light. I've had African cichlids for over a year and i have a beautiful 150 gal tank for them, the dimensions of the tank is 48x24x31. So i am asking for everyone's HELP! i would love to make this a new home for all my saltwater addictions, if someone can help me figure out where in the back of the tank i can drill it out to have a successfully functional sump under the tank that would be great. Thank you

p.s- i know the option of the overflow but i want the most efficient filtration, i just need help prepping this out and figuring out what my options are. If someone can also draw out "blueprints" that would help out also. Tank you

Borges1492 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03/29/2015, 09:30 PM   #2
NanoReefWanabe
Registered Member

so you want to drill the 150?

have you read any of bean failsafe overflow thread?

that is a great place to start…

if it were me i would drill three holes along the back across the top (all three holes along the top at the same level)

now it depends how you want to do this…do you want an internal overflow taking up approximately 5" front to back and 7" tall all the way along the back of the tank? or do you want to build an external overflow box and only lose about 1.5" front to back? you are going to lose 6-7" of height regardless of which way you decide to go…it is only the front to back space that will change…