Reef Central Online Community
Live Aquaria

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/14/2019, 08:23 PM   #1
homebrewdude
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dyer
Posts: 995
Have a 29gal cube running for a few years - wanna make some changes

29gal cube.
Live Rock
2X small clowns
1x Shrimp
various hermits

LPS has not grown, some have died or shrunk
SPS, one quarter size frag is probably 6" now - tons of growth.

I have been doing monthly 5gal water changes

I want to add a sump, skimmer and something to deal with the evaporation.

Any suggestions on an overflow that works well?
I made my own stand, so I think I can fit a decent size DIY sump under it.

I have a cheap LED light that came from Ebay - I guess 5+years old.
Do these wear out? or go out? Any reason to change it?


homebrewdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/14/2019, 08:28 PM   #2
rockhead51
Registered Member
 
rockhead51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 204
For your ATO, I'd check out the AutoAqua Smart ATO.
No clue in why LPS is dying and SPS doing well. Sounds bass-ackwards to me. What are your parameters?

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk


rockhead51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/14/2019, 09:49 PM   #3
homebrewdude
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dyer
Posts: 995
I thought maybe it was the lighting.
The SPS is close to the top of the tank.

I had LPS up mid tank and thought it was too much light.
Now they are closer to the bottom.

I also have aiptasia I need to deal with. Could they be stinging the LPS?


homebrewdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/14/2019, 09:58 PM   #4
murphreef
Registered Member
 
murphreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: simi valley
Posts: 3,171
You ever think of just starting off with a new tank? It might be better experience for you if you invest in a tank made with an overflow like an Innovative Marine set up or something else.....

Biocube IMO just looks so awkward an unpleasant when trying to mod it to be something it isn't.

Get a nice small tank with a proper built in over flow. Get a small or make a small sump, get a skimmer and a smart ATO and then a proper light. Sounds like an investment but in the end for the little extra $ you will have a tank that looks visually appealing and corals that will thank you.


__________________
Justin

Current Tank Info: 25G cube (finally back in the hobby in a small way)
murphreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/14/2019, 10:21 PM   #5
rockhead51
Registered Member
 
rockhead51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 204
Murphreef, did he say Biocube?

Dude, is that what you have? If so, I would take advantage of it's AIO features or get something that will work with what you want to do.
I run a BC32 LED, and have added a good deal of mods, but it's all stuff designed to work with the BC....
My tank is 2 years old, and I have LPS and softies growing like crazy, although I have had some softies slowly melt away...

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk


rockhead51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2019, 10:49 AM   #6
murphreef
Registered Member
 
murphreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: simi valley
Posts: 3,171
^ Ohh shoot not sure I think I just assumed.....

OP what kind of tank do you have? Can you share a picture?


__________________
Justin

Current Tank Info: 25G cube (finally back in the hobby in a small way)
murphreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2019, 01:10 PM   #7
homebrewdude
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dyer
Posts: 995
It is a bio cube that was stripped out.
I have $100 invested + my custom stand.

I am planning in a 150gal tank, but my kid loves this 29gal in his room.

I am ok building a custom sump for the tank, and really dont think it will look bad.


Let me take some photos.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


homebrewdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2019, 01:36 PM   #8
homebrewdude
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dyer
Posts: 995
This is the link to the thread on building the tank.

Since the last photo till today.
SPS grew and LPS shrunk died.


https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?url...9&share_type=t



Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


homebrewdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2019, 03:02 PM   #9
homebrewdude
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dyer
Posts: 995
Photos today

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


homebrewdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2019, 03:03 PM   #10
rockhead51
Registered Member
 
rockhead51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 204
I guess my question is where are you draining from and returning to? Are you using the back chambers as a sort of pre-sump?

I suppose you could pump water out of chamber three and then return it straight to the display. Maybe use chamber 2 as a fuge with chaeto?

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk


rockhead51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2019, 03:56 PM   #11
homebrewdude
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dyer
Posts: 995
Not exactly sure, I guess I have options.

Chamber 1 and tank level are the same.
Nano size overflow from chamber 1
Return to chamber 2
Keep my chamber to tank pump in 3

Cut the chambers so they are all the same as tank. Overflow from large back chamber.
Return direct to the tank.

Other ideas?
I like option one cause I can force more tank water to circulate and have lower flow through the sump.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


homebrewdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2019, 04:41 PM   #12
rockhead51
Registered Member
 
rockhead51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 204
Tank and chamber 1 level is dictated by the height of the divider between chambers one and two. So if you are going to do an overflow in chamber one, it is going to have to bring down those levels, or you'll have to build up that divider.
The problem you will have is synchronizing the flow through two pumps.
The current "overflow" is that divider. If your pump runs higher flow, more water goes over the top, and if it runs lower flow, less water does.

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk


rockhead51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2019, 09:06 PM   #13
homebrewdude
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dyer
Posts: 995
ok, I get that.

So I make rear chambers all overflow.
And the return back to the main tank?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


homebrewdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2019, 11:22 PM   #14
rockhead51
Registered Member
 
rockhead51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 204
Yeah. So I would pull out of chamber 3, and then return straight to tank. And if you can get suction going in 3, I think you could do it all on a return pump.

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk


rockhead51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2019, 05:28 AM   #15
homebrewdude
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dyer
Posts: 995
Look what this person did.

https://www.nano-reef.com/forums/top...ump-to-a-bc29/


Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


homebrewdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2019, 06:44 AM   #16
rockhead51
Registered Member
 
rockhead51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 204
I guess my feeling is that I have an AIO so that my tank will be...well...all in one. The DIY geek in me loves the engineering, but if I want a plumbed tank with sump and more water volume, I would go that route.
I get it if you are money or space constrained (or just need to tinker).
My concern for your situation is that you seem to be seeking a solution for the problems that you've had and may not have fully diagnosed. I'm not averse to "giving something new a shot" but these seems like an awful lot of time, treasure and talent expended with potentially the same issues on the backside.

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk


rockhead51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2019, 07:08 AM   #17
homebrewdude
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dyer
Posts: 995
Well my main thing I want to add is a skimmer. And I have not seen any decent skimmers to fit the back chamber.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


homebrewdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2019, 07:15 PM   #18
rockhead51
Registered Member
 
rockhead51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 204
I'm running the much hated Oceanic Biocube skimmer. Does OK for me, but I've done some mods.

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk


rockhead51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2019, 09:19 PM   #19
murphreef
Registered Member
 
murphreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: simi valley
Posts: 3,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by homebrewdude View Post
Well my main thing I want to add is a skimmer. And I have not seen any decent skimmers to fit the back chamber.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
I agree with rockhead 100% and that was what i was trying to say..... I dont think a skimmer is really your issue and even if it was like he said you can go with one meant for your tank and save the hassle of trying to make this tank into something it isnt....

to be honest you are better off starting over this tank due to the level of aptasia's in your tank or at least get some peppermint shrimps and get them under control before even worrying about a skimmer.

you have such a small bio load a skimmer will skim yes but also just doing weekly water changes should keep everything ok. Feed your clowns 1/2 a cube every day and get your alk in check as well.

I say keep it an AIO or invest in a tank meant to have an overflow..... no need to reinvent the wheel


__________________
Justin

Current Tank Info: 25G cube (finally back in the hobby in a small way)
murphreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2019, 08:04 AM   #20
cjps67
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: fla
Posts: 55
There is a guy on YouTube that did a mod to a bio cube 16 where he added a nano overflow to sump and his tank was really kick *** and really clean install for what he had to work with.


cjps67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.