Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Large Reef Tanks
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/06/2018, 06:18 PM   #1
houston220
Registered Member

Tank Fabricators

I tried searching for feedback on tank fabricators and cannot pull up the old thread. Am I doing something wrong?

Any companies highly recommended for a 180 to 200 gallon glass tank?

houston220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/06/2018, 09:07 PM   #2
Dean Ladd
Registered Member

I just purchased a 72x30x24 from my LFS which I have been doing business with for over 20 years and I bought my current tank from in 1998. That said the custom builder he ordered my custom build from is the original owner/builder of Oceanic Tanks which I have a Model 135 Oceanic that has been wet since 2000. My new tank will be 1/2" glass panes, back drilled for a Synergy Shadow Overflow and 3/4" bottom with traditional framing and bracing. The tank cost me $1459.00 drilled and delivered to the LFS plus sales tax. I went with this because I prefer to support local businesses (I doubt my LFS made much money on the tank sale but they know I will spend more money with them). The delivered cost was inline with what I had found if I ordered online or from a custom builder shipped to my home. Since I have had great luck with my Oceanic, it is over built IMO, if this builder is in fact the same builder as my Oceanic I am OK with that.

Myself I looked at Glasscages, Customaquariums, Marineland and AGA. Note I have not owned any of these tanks nor purchased from any of these builders. I will share what I found researching my tank purchase. All of these offer a standard 180 or 220 but I wanted a wide 220 not a tall 220. Also, there are some very good builders in Canada but I just did not want to deal with all of that.