Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 08/17/2018, 10:01 AM   #1
Ocicat
Premium Member

Struggling to decide on new tank size

So... I am not a newbie, but I am pretty rusty so I feel like one in many ways. And, this is a pretty newbie type of question.

I have previously had a 180 and a ~66 (Red Sea Max 250). (NB: My memories of my 66 are somewhat cloudy because I was pregnant & had a new baby for the majority of the time I had it.... )

I don't want a setup as involved as my 180 was (had custom cabinets built, plumbed a basement sump, etc). It was sweet, but I do not have the energy or time to plan (or implement) another project like that - planning that one took me close to a year.

I know bigger is better. Except, bigger means more space for making water, more effort for water changes, etc, etc.

I'm seriously considering another all-in-one solution like the Clear for Life uniquariums.

Enough rambling. My goals are:
- Fish are the stars; corals are a nice backdrop (softies only); other inverts are fun.
--- I know I want a tank-bred clown pair, a flame angel, and a coral beauty
- Ease of maintenance
- Big enough but not so big that maintenance is a major chore. No longer than 48" due to the optimal locations available in my house. No taller than 24" because I lack chimpanzee arms.
- Needs to look clean, inside and out (leaning toward acrylic despite the scratching issue), as it will be in a very prominent location

So out of all of this, if anyone is still with me, I do have fairly specific questions:

1) How much space do I need to house a Flame Angel and Coral Beauty together? I had one of each in my 180, and they were awesome... probably my favorites.