Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 10/11/2015, 06:38 PM   #1
Thornbreaker
Registered Member

5 foot long in wall tank build

Hello Reef Central,

I'm looking at doing a 5 foot long tank in wall (my wife and I are building a new house in the spring). I've never done a saltwater tank before, but I'm looking forward to getting into the hobby. I've been reading up a lot here at the forum and googling all over the place for research.

I plan to start with a FOWLR, but will likely one day give coral a shot. Mostly non-aggressive fish. I want to start as easy and stable to begin with and work my way slowly up. I plan to include a sump with the standard 3 sections of skimmer, ref, return.

I'd figure I'd go ahead an start a thread to get a few questions answered even though we are several months out from building so that I can be well prepared.

Current stocking list:

True Clown (maybe 2)
Green goby
firefish
royal gamma
Fire Shrimp
Green Mandarin (after a year)

Questions:

1. I know I want the tank to be 5 feet long. Glass. It will be in the living room wall with a closet on the opposite for all the equipment. Only the front will be displayed. Are there any pros/cons with the depth of the tank either 18" or 24"? I'll probably go with a 24" or so height.

2. I plan to have a GFI outlet, a drain, likely a water line, water resistant dry wall in the closet, ventilation. Any other good tips/ideas that I should include? (I'll be doing my saltwater mixing in the garage.)

3. Are there any puffer fish that won't eat a CUC?

4. On water changes, I see where people recommend 10% a week. Is that 10% of display tank, or total system volume including the sump?

5. Any other fish recommendations based on the stocking list above? I'd rather avoid aggressive fish.

Thanks for your help. I'll be sure to add pictures/sketches as spring rolls around.