Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Coral Forums > Soft Coral Keepers
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 11/16/2017, 04:06 PM   #1
Laurenk
Registered Member

Beginner soft corals?

I'm just starting out in this and only have one fairly small Kenya tree coral that I adore. I would love to know some other beginner friendly more hardy soft corals that I can get I would love to get some pulsing Xenia as soon as my local(ish) Petco gets some in, but those are the only 2 I'm aware of that are hardy and good for beginners.

Laurenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/16/2017, 06:26 PM   #2
spbk84
Registered Member

I would suggest looking into Green Star polyps (GSP) or Anthelia. Just beware that Xenia, GSP, and Anthelia all spread and can take over your rock quickly.

spbk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/17/2017, 07:35 AM   #3
kevin21
Registered Member

Certain types of mushroom, green star polyps, yellow polyps, button polyps, kenya tree, xenia, and most leathers would all be good.

Current Tank Info: Waterbox 50g, Tunze 9004 dc skimmer, Vortech mp10, Kessil ap700
kevin21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/17/2017, 10:12 AM   #4
Fiver
Registered Member

Nepthea, finger coral toadstool. Good luck.

Fiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/17/2017, 10:57 AM   #5
jayball
Registered Member

The only photosynthetic soft coral that I can think of to steer you away from is the yellow fiji leather. Other than that they are all hardy.

jayball is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/19/2017, 11:48 AM   #6
Eliemination
Registered Member

I would recommend leather corals, ricordea mushrooms, and zoas. Although xenias and GSP (green star polyps) are very hardy, once established they would grow like weeds and will take over your live rock and other corals. If you have a separate rock away from other corals and live rock, you may keep xenias or GSP on their own separate rock they will look very beautiful.