Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 11/22/2009, 07:03 PM   #1
Gregster
Registered Member

Question Parallel sump design questions for reef tank.

Hi all.
I am new to reef keeping. I had a saltwater fish only set up about 7 yrs ago, but have had freshwater since then.
I am designing an in wall reef which I have made a humble google sketch-up of which is posted below.
I am a victum of a hit and run drunk driver and have difficulty working on things on the floor. So I am designing a 315 gallon in wall system with equipment/service closet that will have a parallel sump/refugium.
I have never seen any system imploying a parallel sump/refugium. So I'm hoping for some experience from you experts here as to the cons of this set up if any.
The sump will be lower than the show tank which will gravity overflow and then be plumbed around the room to the sump/refugium.

Questions;
I'm concerned about the 90 degree pvc overflow water making the turns might slow down flow too much, should I not use pvc in the wall with 90 degree elbows and do tubing with more gradual bends instead or just larger pvc.
In wall pvc would look cleaner.
Also with the MH lighting will I still need a chiller with an 80'' long sump -asumming I dont run the 3 ea 400W MH's more than say 6 hours each day?

Also this will be a mixed reef tank, with LR/LS but I am not a fan of the solid wall of jammed coral/live rock with tiny fish pressed to the front glass. So I want to leave swimming room in the display tank and put a higher amount of the LR in the sump than most do.

The particulars;
Acrylic show tank is 315 gallons; 24Wx84Lx36H
3 ea 400W fan cooled MH with PC actinics and night LED's all timed.
Tank is visable from front and left side only.
vortech mp40 wavemaker with battery back up on right side.