Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 04/12/2019, 03:20 PM   #1
sfsuphysics
Registered Member

How many amps for 18awg wire for LED setup?

If someone with electrical knowledge a bit more than me can chime in to check my reasoning/logic.

So I have these dead DC pumps + controller, and I love the connectors on them, little water tight ones with 3 prongs that screw together. Figure I'd just use that as power cables from my Meanwell PSU to the LEDs.

There are 3 wires in cable, 18 gauge is my educated guess, guessed this because the 16awg notch on my wire strippers don't pull off the insulation, but the 18awg notch gets it off cleanly.

Now I want to daisy chain two fixtures to the same cable, and wondering about load limits of this wire, I've seen everything from 16 amps for chassis wiring, and 2.4 amps for power transmission, now I'm not an engineer just a physicist but I'm not sure what to make of this.

Now each fixture has 2- 1000mA and 2- 700mA Meanwell LDD drivers, so I figure it's pulling approximately 3.4A through the circuit, then 2 of fixtures so 6.8A total (roughly). This is where the chassis designation vs power transmission gets me. I'm guessing chassis is for relatively short distances of wire possibly in the 5-10ft range, where as power transmission might be for the 100 ft+ range? Now the wires will be anywhere from 6-12 feet (double that for the round trip).

So am I in trouble with using a single conductor for the hot and neutral? If so would I be ok with using all 3 conductors in the wire for hot, and another 3 in another for neutral? Or should I just not risk it? I mean I can get UL-listed water proof connectors at the big box store that are rated for 10A and just use some 12-gauge stranded and call it a day, but if I can get away with this thinner stuff it'd make my life a lot easier.

Unread 04/12/2019, 08:24 PM   #2