Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Fish Disease Treatment
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 10/01/2017, 06:29 AM   #1
Taylorcz
Registered Member

Unhappy Help! Ich infestation and Lfs closed.

I'm only new to the hobby, my tank is 6 weeks old and was given the all clear by my lfs to introduce my first few fish. I have bought a tiny yellow tailed damsel, a sand shifting starfish and a Percula clownfish 4 days apart. I have only had the clownfish since Friday and it is now Sunday night. I've been watching him like a hawk because he's so gorgeous so I know he didn't have any white spots earlier today. But I left the house for 4 hours and have come back to him having a good cluster of white spots all over his body! His face looks to be a little paler/pinker aswell.

To make matters worse it's 10pm here ATM and tomorrow is a public holiday so I'm highly doubting any of my lfs will be open. I don't have a quarantine tank. What can I do???

As I said I'm new so any advice is much appreciated!!

Taylorcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10/01/2017, 07:01 AM   #2
JustinM
Registered Member

As long as you're dealing with ich, not velvet, you will be fine till tomorrow. As soon as the store opens though, get what you need for a qt and get it set up. Some basic items are a tank, a thermometer, a heater, a powehead, and an ammonia badge. Ich is very serious but you usually have some time before it becomes very bad.

Can you post a pic of the infected fish? Also, have you figured out what method you're going to treat with?

JustinM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10/01/2017, 07:18 AM   #3
Taylorcz
Registered Member

I'm praying it's not velvet, but I'm scared that it might be. I feel like he's losing his colour.?