Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Fish Disease Treatment
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/11/2011, 09:48 PM   #1
Tuguldur
Registered Member

Help treating the Clown

I am newbie here on this forum and also in this saltwater business!

I had a tropical tank with large oscars for years in my country (Mongolia), but I always wanted to have a saltwater aquarium. Since Mongolia is a landlocked country, as a kid I never had the chance and I would be very surprised if I see a single saltwater tank even now.

Anyways, I came to US and finally having a chance to fulfill my dreams. I did some reading online before starting, but I guess I didn't do it enough so that I bought a false percula clowns from f***** PETCO. Just yesterday I found out about the funky business going around with PETCO...

So I setup a 14g tank with live rock, waited about a month, all parameters seemed to be good, then I borrowed my friend's yellow tail and he survived with no problems for 3 weeks. A week ago went to f***** PETCO and bought 2 false perculas for only 30$. ( I know I am messed up).

Fishes seemed to be doing fine on the first day, unfortunately from the second day I notice white spots all over the fishes and long white poop sticking from both of them. Did some more reading, and I think I also bought the crypto bacteria with some fancy intestinal parasite from the store.

Now one of the clowns is on the merge of death, not eating, breathing heavily and always staying on the surface for air. The other one is eating rather well, being active, but still has the spots all over his body, but a bit fewer than the dying one. I am sure it will die soon after the other if I do nothing and leave in the tank.