Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 03/01/2017, 11:33 PM   #1
KyleSmith
Registered Member

Supplements, dosing, and mixing

Hi all,

I'm new to marine tanks and am looking for some recommendations and guidance on supplements, and how to use them.

I've got a 10g tank with live rock, live sand, a cuc, one O. Clownfish, and some macroalgea. The tank is 8 months old and has been stable. I want to start to introduce some corals.

First, here are my parameters:

Param / Current / Target
sg / 1.021 / 1.025
KH / 8 / 11
PH / 8.2 / 8.2
Ca / 260 / 420
Mg / 860 / 1200

(Ammonia, NO2, NO3 all 0)

Now on to a few questions:

1. All of the directions on the supplements I am using talk about quantities to add to the tank to raise levels. It seems to me that adding supplements while mixing the water, to bring them to my targets, would make more sense. Am I missing something here? Is there a reason I would not want to do this?

2. I do know that at some point, I'll want to figure out how much consumption of each supplement is being used by the tank and add a drip dose system. Can I get by without this for a while?

3. I know this one might start a religious war, but what brand of supplements do you prefer? Is there a reason to choose a liquid vs a powder for supplementing?

4. How about salt? I am using Red Sea Coral Pro right now. Other than brand preference, is there any reason to reconsider this?

5. Are there any other parameters you recommend I dose for?

Thanks

Kyle

KyleSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03/01/2017, 11:37 PM   #2
KyleSmith
Registered Member

Perhaps this would be better in Reef Chemistry. I've created it here: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh...7#post24984077

Sorry!

Unread 03/02/2017, 03:36 AM   #3
bnumair
Dr. Reef at ur service

Rule 1 of this hobby don't add anything unless u can measure for it.