Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/26/2006, 10:12 PM   #1
lendz
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New manila QC
Posts: 182
My 3 gallon Pico Tank

Ok,I bought a Pico tank for myself this christmas.. I put an strawberry dottyback... Will this survive me setup? Is this ok? What should I do? The filtration consists of a UGF,Powerhead with filter media on it..

Here are the pics:
http://lendz.multiply.com/photos/alb...replies_read=6

It looks empty though.. But I added 2 small LR's today.. Please give me some advices and critics will be appreciated.. Thanx!


lendz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/26/2006, 10:15 PM   #2
saltycreefer
Registered Member
 
saltycreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fairfield,CT
Posts: 1,700
Oh boy, you probably should have waited a couple weeks to add the fish.Ditch the UG filter. Just use the powerhead and some live rock for filtration and do a small weekly water change.


__________________
I love being a turtle!!!

Current Tank Info: Got out of tanks for a little while.
saltycreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/26/2006, 11:16 PM   #3
lendz
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New manila QC
Posts: 182
Will do.. I will transfer him to my 300gal for a while.. I'll just put it in the sump for awhile.. I used the water from my main display tank.. It already has some liverocks...


lendz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/26/2006, 11:35 PM   #4
sir_dudeguy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,846
it doesnt matter if you used water from an established tank. The bacteria is all in the rock and sand and stuff...not realy in the water. So adding old water isnt really doing much for you at all. You're sure not the only one who's tried it tho i can guarantee you that! I see that question on here a lot.


__________________
TAKE...LUCK!!!
sir_dudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/26/2006, 11:53 PM   #5
lendz
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New manila QC
Posts: 182
Ohh.. So I shud transfer the fish to my main tank.. Ryt?


lendz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:15 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.