Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 08/05/2013, 11:43 AM   #1
jharding08
BlueWorldAquatics.com

External Overflow with Durso pipe

I just recently redid my overflow plumbing. I currently have a CPR CS100 External Siphon overflow with a 1" bulkhead. Before, I had a 1.5" drain on the outside of the bulkhead (thought I could screw into the thread on outside of the bulk head. Don't ask, I was a newbie). The durso pump had a air vent hole a bit smaller than 1/4" where i could put a piece of 1/4" airline tubing to silence it. The outlet of the 1.5" plumbing went into a filter sock, which meant the pipe was under water. The only problem with the plumbing was that it would leak when the water backed up after the bulkhead where the plumbing screwed into the bulkhead outside. I put some putty on it to try to seal it, but it wasnt a good solution.

Last weekend I tore out the 1.5" plumbing and put in 1" plumbing with unions. The 1" pipe is inserted into the inside slip side of the bulkhead and glued with PVC glue. The plumbing runs down about 2 feet, through a hole in the stand and then runs 3 feet to the sump where it drops into the water and filter sock (end is under water).

I am seeing a couple things with the new setup:
1.) There is a small leak in the joint between the bulkhead and the pvc. It isnt the bulkhead seal that is leaking it is the coming between the bulkhead and pvc. And by small, I mean 1 drop every 5 min. I know that salt creep could possibly seal this, but if not, how would I seal it without having to replace the bulkhead/pvc/union, etc?