Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Large Reef Tanks
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 04/22/2010, 11:43 AM   #1
Dante_JoseCuerv
Registered Member

My first large tank, what do I need to know?

Hey everyone, so after about a year of delaying it looks like I'm finally going to be getting my first large tank early/mid summer :-)
I'm relatively new to this realm, and even though I've done a ton of research I still figured that asking for the help of RC would be a good idea. So here's the rundown: I'm going to be getting a tank in the ~300-450 gallon range. I've done a ton of research, both here on RC and other websites/books/etc and here's all the equipment I've put together so far, let me know what you think and feel free to add your own comments/suggestions/criticism. All of it is welcome and appreciated!!!

Filtration/plumbing
  • Return pump: Dart or Snapper
  • Skimmer: Reef Octopus TDNW 300
    Recirculating (is the 400 overkill?)
    • Skimmer supply pump: Sicce 2500 or Sedra 9000?
  • 1.5" drain plumbing (BeanAnimal design)
    • Is 1.5" too big, also: should I connect the main siphons together and leave the other 4 separated or leave all of them separated?
  • Sump: rubbermaid stock tank(s)
    • This is where I have a couple ideas: should I get a 50 gallon stock tank for filter socks and the skimmer and then lead into a larger one containing stuff like LR and whatnot. This would allow me to split the flow between a sump and a fuge (might go for a display fuge)
    • Or... should I just get one big stock tank and have everything in there, adding in a fuge with macros later?
  • Return plumbing: 1" mixed returns
    • I'm thinking of doing 2 main returns on the back panel with several returns elsewhere (either side).
  • Reactors:
    • Single or dual (carbon and GFO): Should I run separate reactors to allow for differing flow rates or just get a dual reactor for both?