Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > MidWest Region-Reef Club Forums > Chicagoland Marine Aquarium Society (CMAS)
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/08/2011, 06:07 AM   #1
1boatnut
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Lenox,Illinois
Posts: 933
Conduit & Hanging Lights ???

So I plan on using conduit to make hangers for my light fixtures.

Currently I have 2 pieces of 10' conduit @ 1/2"

Do you think 1/2" conduit is sufficent to hang lights on that weigh somewhere between 5-7lbs?


I plan on a very simple type set-up.
Conduit secured to back of stand with a 90 degree bend over the tank. Drill hole about 1/2" in from the end of the pipe & hang the fixture


1boatnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2011, 07:10 AM   #2
fredfish13
Registered Member
 
fredfish13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: northside of chicago
Posts: 130
should be fine. I had one 10' piece of 1/2" and cut it in half to hang my aquaticlife 4x24 T-5 fixture. been fine for over 2 months.


__________________
65g mixed reef
BC14- stock pump, nano425, 2 ecoxotic pro strips, avast ato, 15 lbs of LS/LR
fredfish13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2011, 08:41 AM   #3
jkf1983
Registered Member
 
jkf1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 1,050
I would think so. But why not just hang it from the ceiling with a stainless cable? Might be easier too.


__________________
.

Current Tank Info: 120 Gal Rimless Starphire, ATB 840 v2.0 Skimmer, reefledlights.com DIY LED's, 2 Tunze 6105's, 40B sump.
jkf1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2011, 08:46 AM   #4
indydog1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: round lake, il
Posts: 1,590
i would not make a sharp 90. a curved one would hold better.


__________________
Learn from the mistakes of others.
You can't live long enough to make them all yourself

Current Tank Info: 210 gal
indydog1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2011, 10:10 AM   #5
1boatnut
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Lenox,Illinois
Posts: 933
I plan to make something like this:http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...LAID=525429605

Instead of using 2 hangers though,I will cross all4 to the middle and only use 1 bracket per light.


1boatnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2011, 12:58 PM   #6
badazztealcobra
Registered Member
 
badazztealcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Streamwood, IL
Posts: 7,459
How tall and wide is the tank ??? I would think if possible to try to make it from one stick of conduit. Like up from the back of the tank, bend towards the front of the tank, then bend left, then bend back towards the rear of the tank again, then bend back down.

Depending how good you are with a conduit bender in your hands you could make it pretty nice, then slap a coat of black paint on it and be done.

The link you posted is coming up dead, do you have just a picture ???


__________________
Currently in between tanks at the moment... Planning my next project...

"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer th
badazztealcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2011, 03:27 PM   #7
1boatnut
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Lenox,Illinois
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by badazztealcobra View Post
How tall and wide is the tank ???
Its a 125 gal
72x18x21
I think from the floor to the top of the tank is around 56"

Quote:
Originally Posted by badazztealcobra View Post
I would think if possible to try to make it from one stick of conduit.
Yes,thats what I plan on doing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by badazztealcobra View Post
Depending how good you are with a conduit bender in your hands you could make it pretty nice, then slap a coat of black paint on it and be done.
I suck. Yes my intentions are to paint it black

Quote:
Originally Posted by badazztealcobra View Post
The link you posted is coming up dead, do you have just a picture ???
Sorry..I attached a photo.
In this picture it shows 2 brackets for 1 light.
I plan to just use 1 bracket per light ,for a total of 3

I already cut and bent 3 pieces of conduit.
All I did was bend them at a 90 degree like in the photo.
Now the fun comes to secure them to the stand,which is about 6" from the wall


Attached Images
File Type: bmp Light bracket2.bmp (74.4 KB, 71 views)
1boatnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2011, 09:20 PM   #8
cubsfan16
Registered Member
 
cubsfan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 208
I went with the single piece of 3/4" and painted it black. I need to still make a minor adjustment as it is not perfectly level. Sorry for the crappy pics





Attached Images
File Type: jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1323404208.494341.jpg (29.1 KB, 54 views)
__________________
Tank Info: SPS Dominated 120gal, Skimz 161 Skimmer, BRS GFO & Carbon Reactors, JBJ ATO, 114 Cree DIY ReefLed.com, 2 MP40's, 40 Breeder Sump, Apex Controller.

Last edited by cubsfan16; 12/08/2011 at 09:26 PM.
cubsfan16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/09/2011, 06:05 AM   #9
1boatnut
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Lenox,Illinois
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubsfan16 View Post
I went with the single piece of 3/4" and painted it black. I need to still make a minor adjustment as it is not perfectly level. Sorry for the crappy pics


I like that.
I made 3 seperate pieces,and used only 1/2"....That was what worried me.I did hang 1 light just to see,and it seemed fine.
I have not installed them yet. Maybe later today?
I kinda did just like the pic in my last post.

Well if I decide to change,conduit was 1.69 for 10'.

Heycubsfan16...What did youi use on the conduit to attach your hanging kit with?
What are they called,and where did you get them?
They almost look like whats attached to my light fixture already,but those would be nice as I only drilled holes to put my S hoook in from the hanger


1boatnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/09/2011, 08:42 PM   #10
cubsfan16
Registered Member
 
cubsfan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 208
I'm not sure what the are called, they were part of the hanging kit I got from reefledslights.com there is a close up pic on their site. I bet you could find them at a homedepot or lowes


__________________
Tank Info: SPS Dominated 120gal, Skimz 161 Skimmer, BRS GFO & Carbon Reactors, JBJ ATO, 114 Cree DIY ReefLed.com, 2 MP40's, 40 Breeder Sump, Apex Controller.
cubsfan16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/09/2011, 08:56 PM   #11
jkf1983
Registered Member
 
jkf1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 1,050
This is the cable I used you could just hang them from the ceiling as they're intended or you could use your bracket. Either way, the kit includes all mounting hardware and is very nice. Cable and hardware was even nicer than what had come with my old ati powermodule.


__________________
.

Current Tank Info: 120 Gal Rimless Starphire, ATB 840 v2.0 Skimmer, reefledlights.com DIY LED's, 2 Tunze 6105's, 40B sump.
jkf1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/09/2011, 08:57 PM   #12
jkf1983
Registered Member
 
jkf1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 1,050
Link....
http://reefledlights.com/shop/hanging-kit/


__________________
.

Current Tank Info: 120 Gal Rimless Starphire, ATB 840 v2.0 Skimmer, reefledlights.com DIY LED's, 2 Tunze 6105's, 40B sump.
jkf1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/09/2011, 09:44 PM   #13
1boatnut
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Lenox,Illinois
Posts: 933
Thanks guys..
The lights came with cables that had a S hook on the end so I don't need cables.
the part going into the pipe is what interests me,and would work out well.
Maybe I van take the picture to HD or Lowes and see what they have.

Thanks again

cubsfan16, I really like how you did the 1 piece application.
I'll post some pics on mine soon.
They are not painted yet though


1boatnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/09/2011, 10:13 PM   #14
jkf1983
Registered Member
 
jkf1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 1,050
Something like this should be perfect then... drill a hole through the conduit and have a nut on each side.
http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:A...YnrDeowGnqb3Ay


__________________
.

Current Tank Info: 120 Gal Rimless Starphire, ATB 840 v2.0 Skimmer, reefledlights.com DIY LED's, 2 Tunze 6105's, 40B sump.
jkf1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/09/2011, 10:38 PM   #15
cubsfan16
Registered Member
 
cubsfan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 208
Looking forward to seeing it


__________________
Tank Info: SPS Dominated 120gal, Skimz 161 Skimmer, BRS GFO & Carbon Reactors, JBJ ATO, 114 Cree DIY ReefLed.com, 2 MP40's, 40 Breeder Sump, Apex Controller.
cubsfan16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/10/2011, 08:42 AM   #16
1boatnut
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Lenox,Illinois
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkf1983 View Post
Something like this should be perfect then... drill a hole through the conduit and have a nut on each side.
http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:A...YnrDeowGnqb3Ay
Yep,that will work

Thanks


1boatnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/10/2011, 10:40 AM   #17
1boatnut
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Lenox,Illinois
Posts: 933
Partially finished.
Still need to paint and get part for ends to hang better.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100_0473-1.JPG (57.5 KB, 181 views)
1boatnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2011, 07:43 AM   #18
SaltyAl
Registered Member
 
SaltyAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 141
How are you attaching the other end of the conduit? To the back of the tank? The stand? I think I want to hang my light to keep the cats off it.

Al


SaltyAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2011, 08:40 AM   #19
lexiz1
Registered Member
 
lexiz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bartlett
Posts: 309
1/2" EMT will hold 5-7 lbs. But if you want something a little stronger use 1/2" rigid conduit. It is stronger and will not rust from the salt. Both are available at local hardware stores.


lexiz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2011, 01:58 PM   #20
1boatnut
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Lenox,Illinois
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaltyAl View Post
How are you attaching the other end of the conduit? To the back of the tank? The stand? I think I want to hang my light to keep the cats off it.

Al
Al,I just used regular conduit straps.
1 at the top part of my stand and 1 the bottom.

Also I have mine resting on the floor behind the tank.
If I were in need to lower the lights,the only way would be to either cut the conduit,or get longer hangers.

Also I have to move my outer lights over a bit.
I guess I did not compensate for the light spread,and instead just centered all lights. Now I have shadows (darker) at both ends of the tank.


1boatnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2011, 01:59 PM   #21
1boatnut
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Lenox,Illinois
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexiz1 View Post
1/2" EMT will hold 5-7 lbs. But if you want something a little stronger use 1/2" rigid conduit. It is stronger and will not rust from the salt. Both are available at local hardware stores.
Thanks,but too late


1boatnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help on hanging light sscat22 Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment 4 06/29/2011 09:06 PM
Hanging light fixture fishyman12 Do It Yourself 7 05/25/2011 04:58 PM
Rigid Conduit to hang ATI Powermodule? BigRedNole Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment 16 03/10/2011 06:50 AM
Anyone use electrical conduit to hang there reflectors? Mel-E-Mel Greater San Francisco Bay Area Reef Forum 12 03/12/2010 11:16 AM
Pictures of your lighting ideas DaFishHead Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment 5 10/05/2009 09:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014