Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 04/16/2014, 07:55 PM   #1
inetmug
Registered Member

FOWLR or FWLRAOS?

Question, am I Fish Only with live Rock (FOWLR), or am I Fish With Live Rock and Other Stuff (FWLRAOS)?

Meaning, I have fish, live rock/sand, crabs, serpent stars, banded corals shrimp, but no soft corals. Or at least no corals but soft ones that I can legally collect for personal use in the FL Keys. But usually the Angels wind up nibbling them away. Does this mean I am FOWLR, or am I reef?

I consider myself a newbie, but not a complete newbie. I had/have a 55 FWLRAOS for several years successfully (for the most part). I used to have a built in reef master in my college buddy but he unfortunately passed suddenly in October. So I inherited his 250-300 gallon acrylic tank and stuff. So now I am on my own, and with one big arse tank.

The way the tank was set up for dead rock, sand, fish, some invertebrates, illumination lighting only, a protein skimmer, and an AQUA UV unit. It was clean, but not serviced by his widow.

I moved the tank with the help of a small village 1O days ago hoping to get it set up in one day. However, as luck would have it, we busted a fitting on the sump, and it was sunday, so we were SOL. I decided to slow things down, take a close look at all the core components as to not flood my house by hokey setup. Good call, as there were other fittings that were questionable. Me thinks my bud was on the verge of a flood, and good thing we got it out of there. The components are sound, it was just the way it was put together that was hokey in some places.