Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 10/24/2010, 11:55 PM   #1
gp2
Registered Member

Attention tang police / or my insane re-introduction to reef tanks

Sorry about the length. Some quick background. I have about 30 years experience in fishkeeping, have bred many kinds of freshwater fish, had a large fishroom and managed several pet stores (many years ago), ...but I have not had an actual salt tank since the early to mid 80's. I got out of saltwater because I felt it was an environmental crime at the time especially with the kind of losses we were experiencing at a commercial level. IME almost all of the fish collected then were cyanided. Anyways, on to my post.

My beloved lungfish died after 20 years and the wife suggested a salt tank. Sweet I say! Couple of weeks of shopping and I find a beauty of a tank on CL. Guy is getting out of the hobby, tank is mature, will help break it down fill it back up with the same water, rocks, sand, fish, etc.. Good to go. Tank is 36" long 54 maybe 65 gallon, something like that. Tank has a HUGE anemone with a HUGE clown fish, 3 large adult tangs: Hippo, red sea sailfin, and purple, some small wrasses, various corals (mostly soft), filled with LR, and a small cleanup crew. It does have a 15 gallon sump, decent protein skimmer, and a good light fixture (4 T5 with 250 watt MH x2.) OK, maybe 2 weeks later go to the LFS, wife wants more fish. Spend about an hour talking to the guys, buy a book and a good set of test kits along with some fish (coral beauty, a goby that carpet surfed and a small wrasse.) Oh, at this point I have never heard of a QT by the way.