Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/13/2007, 11:26 AM   #1
rleechb
Registered Member
 
rleechb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,684
Timer for air conditioner

So here's the dilemma. I don't have room (or want to free up the funds) for a chiller. I have a window air conditioner in my apartment that can keep the living room where the tank resides cool. However, this window AC unit does not have any sort of thermostat associated with it. It's simply on or off. I leave work every morning at 5am, and it would be a terrible waste to turn the AC on before work to run for 8-9 hours before the tank lights come on. Ideally, I'd like to get a timer for the the AC unit, so that it turns on when the lights come on to prevent the tank from overheating during those warm summer days. However, the AC unit has a weird plug, not your standard AC outlet. I believe it's the same outlet as a standard washer/dryer outlet, but I'm not positive. Does anyone know how to get this to work? Are there any timers like the aforementioned with these funky i/o connections? TIA!


rleechb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2007, 12:13 PM   #2
rleechb
Registered Member
 
rleechb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,684
^


rleechb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2007, 01:18 PM   #3
wife no likey
Registered Member
 
wife no likey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 647
yes there are:



http://cgi.ebay.com/Intermatic-220v-...QQcmdZViewItem


wife no likey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2007, 01:48 PM   #4
Lake75
Registered Member
 
Lake75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 158
I had the same situation as yours and here is what I bought:

http://www.rewci.com/inaircoandap.html

They have a couple of different ones with different plug types. Just look at their diagrams and pick the one that fits your AC.


Lake75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2007, 01:53 PM   #5
katchupoy
Moved On
 
katchupoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,548
If you have the 110 volt version. I think this can work.
http://diyreef.com/shop/product_info...products_id=37


katchupoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2007, 02:08 PM   #6
wife no likey
Registered Member
 
wife no likey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 647
why do people post the exact same thing that is a line above?

Quote:
Originally posted by Lake75
I had the same situation as yours and here is what I bought:

http://www.rewci.com/inaircoandap.html

They have a couple of different ones with different plug types. Just look at their diagrams and pick the one that fits your AC.



wife no likey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2007, 02:23 PM   #7
rleechb
Registered Member
 
rleechb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,684
You guys are awesome. I love RC.

<3


rleechb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2007, 10:23 PM   #8
Lake75
Registered Member
 
Lake75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 158
Because I didn't read every word of your post and didn't click through your link? I went through the trouble to help the OP, not obliged to read everything that followed.

Quote:
Originally posted by pennilessreefer
why do people post the exact same thing that is a line above?



Lake75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2007, 10:25 PM   #9
manderx
Registered Member
 
manderx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 4,886
does your AC not have a thermostat because it's so old? if so it might pay for itself by getting a newer more efficient model, with a thermostat as a bonus.


Quote:
why do people post the exact same thing that is a line above?
some people don't like buying from ebay.


manderx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/14/2007, 04:47 PM   #10
rleechb
Registered Member
 
rleechb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,684
It's just a window mounted crappy air conditioner. I'm an apartment dweller, so I'm not particularly keen on the idea of upgrading the apartment for the next tenant

Plus, I'm moving out in 6 mos. I just want to make sure I can get this tank through the hot summer months.

Aren't most air conditioners 110V? I thought 220V was european or something.


rleechb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/14/2007, 08:41 PM   #11
skydvr
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 98
Most units don't take to well to having the power killed when it is running (note the tag that recommends not unplugging for several minutes after shutting off)
It runs thru a cycle that prevents the condenser from freezing and damaging seals, fittings, or the tubing. As well as preventing a blockage of flow thru the condenser.

You can find controllers (much like those used for heater controlls) that can be wired into the unit to controll temp.
But since you are moving soon, that probably wouldn't be a good idea.
I would get a newer unit and take it with you when you leave.


Most window A/C units are 110/120V. there are many larger in wall units that are 220V. but since you said it had a washing machine style plug (which is 220V) everyone would asssume it is 220V. Unplug iit and seee if it is the standard prongs (most A/C units have a flattter plug where the wire comes off the side unlike a typical lamp cord), if so it's 115V. Since you seem to know what a washer plug looks like, if it's similar to that it will be 220V. Or you could just read the serial plate for the ratings.


skydvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.