Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Coral Forums > SPS Keepers
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/30/2007, 11:54 PM   #1
MarineGirl411
Registered Member
 
MarineGirl411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,621
What is the acceptable level of Phosphate in an SPS tank?

Hi Everyone,
I talked to my LFS lately about phosphate control in my tank. I want to get into SPS more. He said that phosphate is good for building corals skeletons and he doesn't use a phosphate remover, until he sees hair algae or some type of algae. I tested my phosphate levels and they are not detectable. I don't know if I trust my tests though because I have to swipe my glass clean every 2 days. I used a Sechem and Regeant Phosphate test kit. Both came out with the same results. I was going to purchase a Salifert test kit, but I read on here that they are not very accurate. Please let me know. Thank you all so much.


__________________
I am a reefaholic and there is no cure. =)

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon reef, Cardiff Nano Seahorse tank.
MarineGirl411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 12:08 AM   #2
joeycadre
Registered Member
 
joeycadre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: jackson
Posts: 1,379
you want 0. phosphates can brown out your corals.


__________________
"it's not the heat, it's the humility"

Current Tank Info: 90 gal. sps mostly. bubble master 200. pci cl-300 chiller
joeycadre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 04:08 AM   #3
dukes707
Registered Member
 
dukes707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vallejo/707, cali
Posts: 364
0


__________________
helping to save the reefs one coral at a time

Current Tank Info: 90g in progress again...
dukes707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 04:15 AM   #4
BAB43
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacrameto CA
Posts: 51
0 is best


BAB43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 04:25 AM   #5
jeffbrig
Premium Member
 
jeffbrig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,556
Re: What is the acceptable level of Phosphate in an SPS tank?

Quote:
Originally posted by MarineGirl411
I tested my phosphate levels and they are not detectable. I don't know if I trust my tests though
I wouldn't trust the test result either. We recently had a water testing session at my local club meeting, and the vast majority of tanks returned "0" using salifert's PO4 kit, including mine. One member brought an Elos kit that measured .07 on my water. Still not sure if that's 100% accurate, as I have good coloration and no hair algae problems. I'm debating picking up a Merck kit sometime down the line or a colorimeter.

While 0 is an admirable goal, commonly accepted practice is that .03 is a good target, as nsw tends to be .03 or lower.


__________________
Beware the power of stupid people in large groups.....

Current Tank Info: formerly 250g room divider
jeffbrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 05:20 AM   #6
brianbigoats
Registered Member
 
brianbigoats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lodi, CA
Posts: 1,171
with my Hanna Colorimeter i run 0.03-0.00
Any Test PO4 test kit most likely wil read 0 when you are below .1 so 0 is not acually zero the best way to test is w/ Colorimeter


brianbigoats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 07:20 AM   #7
tperk9784
Registered Member
 
tperk9784's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chattanooga TN
Posts: 691
Re: What is the acceptable level of Phosphate in an SPS tank?

Quote:
Originally posted by MarineGirl411
He said that phosphate is good for building corals skeletons
Thats the funniest thing I have read in awhile.


__________________
You never realize how much you love something till it's gone.

Current Tank Info: None
tperk9784 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 07:24 AM   #8
fishdoc11
catch and release
 
fishdoc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Old Hickory,TN
Posts: 13,238
Re: Re: What is the acceptable level of Phosphate in an SPS tank?

Quote:
Originally posted by jeffbrig

While 0 is an admirable goal, commonly accepted practice is that .03 is a good target,
Ditto


__________________
"Try to learn something about everything and everything about something" -- Thomas H. Huxley

Current Tank Info: 70 gallon mixed reef
fishdoc11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 10:41 AM   #9
MarineGirl411
Registered Member
 
MarineGirl411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,621
Really? He's a very good and well respected reef keeper here. He said you do need some phosphates because it helps build their skeletons along with calcium and mag. That doesn't sound right huh? Where can I pick up one of those test kits you are talking about? I've never heard of them. I'd appreciate it. Thank you.


__________________
I am a reefaholic and there is no cure. =)

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon reef, Cardiff Nano Seahorse tank.
MarineGirl411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 11:04 AM   #10
jay24k
Registered Member
 
jay24k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leesburg, Florida
Posts: 6,582
Without any phosphates, corals would not live but you don't want too much. I swipe my glass every 2 to 3 days and have no color issues. I think it depends on many things.


jay24k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 11:11 AM   #11
MarineGirl411
Registered Member
 
MarineGirl411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,621
That is what he told me along with the other. I get some green algae down where my glass meets the sand. I can't really scrub down there with my mag float. I also swipe my tank about every other day or every 2 days. Should I invest in a certain phosphate test kit? I have Regeant and Sechem. Another fish guy that sold me my skimmer said the regeant was junk and he'd send me the sechem free if I just paid for shipping. So I did. Is the Sechem not accurate either? My sump/refugium has algae, I even have a little on my skimmer. Light does get on my skimmer though from my Refugium. What specific types of Algae reduce phosphates? I have Chaeto and some Caluerpa I believe. Please let me know. Thank you.


__________________
I am a reefaholic and there is no cure. =)

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon reef, Cardiff Nano Seahorse tank.
MarineGirl411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 12:21 PM   #12
jay24k
Registered Member
 
jay24k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leesburg, Florida
Posts: 6,582
phosphate test kits are worthless. You need the colorimeter mentioned earlier or one of the more expensive ones. I've never tested for it as long as I don't see any issues.


jay24k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 12:49 PM   #13
Philwd
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Gilbert, Az
Posts: 4,101
Salifert's kit and most other kits only measure inorganic phosphate. The Merck/Deltec kit and colorimeters measure orthophosphate which is what gets metabolized.

By the time you see HA growing it's way too high. I judge by how long it takes for a diatom film to grow. Any less than 4 days and nutrients have built up. On the Merck kit I get .008. That is plenty for the corals to grow. Anything over .02 on that kit and I'm just feeding algae. Again that is orthophoshate levels not inorganic levels.


Philwd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 01:21 PM   #14
Big Boy69
Registered Member
 
Big Boy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 1,223
Where do you buy a calorimeter? It sounds like you buy it at a healthfood place.


Big Boy69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 01:24 PM   #15
Yinger
Premium Member
 
Yinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Yorba Linda
Posts: 3,681
Its the hanna colorimeter or photometer. You can get it here... you'll want the low range

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...pc=1&N=0&Nty=1


Yinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2007, 04:19 PM   #16
delv
Moved On
 
delv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: The BK, NYC
Posts: 1,100
Orthophosphate is inorganic...it's a very stable version...organic phosphate is often reduced to the ortho to measure it. The Hanna (nor any hobbyist) test kit do not reduce organic phosphates to ortho or "free version" to measure it. Either way, you're missing out all organic phosphate that's may be available to life (or algae/corals) but not the test kit.

I would toss the tests and check algae on the glass.

d.


delv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/29/2011, 12:13 PM   #17
Sohal Tang Tim
Registered Member
 
Sohal Tang Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Collingwood , ON, Canada
Posts: 739
Question Milwaukee Phosphate meter

I have a Milwaukee meter...
Phosphate showing .12.... am I in trouble??????

I have hair algae a bit only in refugium only.

Comments/opinions welcome . thanks.


Tim


__________________
"My God Reefs are Gorgeous!"

Current Tank Info: 100 gallon reef
Sohal Tang Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/29/2011, 12:17 PM   #18
Allmost
Moved On
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: canada, toronto
Posts: 8,189
0.02

PO4 of Zero means no life, cant happen. (but our tests have Issues)

high po4 stops calcification.


Allmost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/21/2017, 08:22 PM   #19
bxbe888
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Chino Hills, California
Posts: 40
my PO4 is 0,09 currently, and SPS are not that colorful


bxbe888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/21/2017, 10:09 PM   #20
Pife
Registered Member
 
Pife's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbe888 View Post
my PO4 is 0,09 currently, and SPS are not that colorful
6 year old thread. That being said there are a lot of things that add up to colorful sps.


__________________
I'm not saying let's get rid of all the stupid people.* I'm just saying let's remove all the warning labels and let the problem work itself out.

Current Tank Info: 150g DT plumbed to an 80g frag tank and 220g sump in the basement. ~4-MP40s ~ ATI powered t5s ~ Reefbrites supplementing ~ Custom GEO Skimmer ~ GEO CA Reactor 6x12~ Iwaki 80 Return ~
Pife is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/21/2017, 10:15 PM   #21
All Delight
Registered Member
 
All Delight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 4,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbe888 View Post
my PO4 is 0,09 currently, and SPS are not that colorful
If youbrun gfo to.lower it use a little at a time. Lower it too fast could shock your sps.


__________________
Life's simple, you make choices and you don't look back.

Current Tank Info: too small
All Delight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/22/2017, 06:42 AM   #22
reefmutt
Registered Member
 
reefmutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mtl. Canada
Posts: 6,710
Pife thank goodness you mentioned this is a 6 year old thread. I forgot to look as I was reading all of those sort of scary, uninformed posts..
My po4 is currently .2 (elos high resolution test kit) been there for a good 6 months
Here is my Jason Fox flame when I added it about 2 months ago:

And here it is today:

Nitrates: 30-40 and phosphates.18-.22 the whole time.
Now, I DO intend to lower them eventually but I am not in a hurry. I have to do it extremely slowly and would rather do it with bacteria than gfo. I have not used gfo in many months. I find it yoyos the levels and I think this is the most important aspect of nutrients- not necessarily the actual levels but their stability.
Bxbe888, .09 is really not a concern at all. Don't blame the colour of your corals in high po4 because I doubt that is the cause.. not knowing anything about your system, I couldn't say what is the cause, however..
Every time things change in a reef, the corals may brown out a bit. Stability is key. Maturity of the system is important as well.. proper lighting, parameters etc these all play a role.


__________________
Matt.

Current Tank Info: 53x32.5x26 190g dt 60g of sumps 3 tank-100 gal frag system 4x AI prime 6xt5 3x150w mh. 4x maxspect gyre. Skimz Dual internal sicce pump skimmer Deltec PF601s ca rx+Kalk stirrer
reefmutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/22/2017, 12:36 PM   #23
Denadai
Registered Member
 
Denadai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,838
0.02 ppm is a good target

I´m keeping po4 = 0.02ppm and no3 = 1 / 3 ppm. Better color and growth

Best Regards


Denadai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/22/2017, 04:34 PM   #24
Stolireef
Registered Member
 
Stolireef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,174
Blog Entries: 5
I never check phosphates. Rather, I use algae as my guide so long as my chaeto is growing and I have little to no algae in my display, I assume phosphates are where they need to be. I've been doing quite a bit of reading lately particularly on tanks that have been up more than a couple of years and that have great SPS results. Almost all of them have surprisingly high nutrients. Nitrates above 10 and phospates closing in on .1.

The other thing is that if you are growing algae anywhere in the tank, you don't have 0 phosphate or nitrates.


__________________
I want to burn twice as bright and half as long. Oh, and a full tank crash is just an excuse for a new build.

Current Tank Info: 125 Rimless Leemar, Apex, Trigger 30 Elite Sump, Vertex 180i Skimmer, 2 X Gen4 Radion XR30W, BM Doser, 2xMP40WES, 2xTunze 6095, Sicce Syncra 4.0.
Stolireef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/22/2017, 04:54 PM   #25
Denadai
Registered Member
 
Denadai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stolireef View Post
I never check phosphates. Rather, I use algae as my guide so long as my chaeto is growing and I have little to no algae in my display, I assume phosphates are where they need to be. I've been doing quite a bit of reading lately particularly on tanks that have been up more than a couple of years and that have great SPS results. Almost all of them have surprisingly high nutrients. Nitrates above 10 and phospates closing in on .1.

The other thing is that if you are growing algae anywhere in the tank, you don't have 0 phosphate or nitrates.
I have tons of chaeto in my refugium but sometimes po4 start to rise and I wouldn´t notice without hanna checker.

I don´t believe is possible to have healthy and colorful SPS with PO4 > 0.1 in the long run

Best Regards


Denadai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014