Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 07/25/2008, 12:27 PM   #1
scbauer
The Buff Reefer
 
scbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,696
AC Jr Moon Simulation Question

Hi all, trying to figure out exactly how my moon simulator works on my AC Jr (the older style).

I have a 25W incandescent bulb that is plugged into a 2-prong X10 lamp module. I have tested the dimming ability of the bulb by plugging in my standard X10 hardware and using the X10 remote to dim the bulb... works fine.

Here is the issue: Through the AC Jr, the moon simulator either turns the moonlight on or off, doesn't seem to dim it based on moon cycle. I have the following statement:

If MON 000/000 Then MN1 ON

In this case, MON is the moon simulator in the AC Jr and MN1 is the timer associated with my moonlight on X10 channel F11.

A few days ago, the moonlight was turning on just fine. It turned on to full intensity, so I just figured it was a full moon. Last night, it didn't even come on... I know it doesn't go from a full moon to a new moon overnight, so something seems wrong.

I tried changing the date on the AC Jr, skipping forward 3 or 4 days at a time, and the best I would get would be either On or Off, nothing in the middle.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-Scott


__________________
offical member of the "WIAGAS" club

"Wondering If Anybody Gives A ...."
...for when your thread has 50 posts, and 48 of them are yours

Current Tank Info: 56-Gallon In-Wall... Check out my webpage to see my build thread!
scbauer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/25/2008, 03:14 PM   #2
kenargo
Premium Member
 
kenargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 8,151
Do you have any other statements which are turning the MN1 timer on/off? You should also verify that you do not have multiple timers sharing the same address.


__________________
Click on my name to visit my homepage and access a collection of AquaController and Apex software, tips, trick and other Q&A including a link to the 'unofficial Apex new users guide' with loads of helpful information and don't forget to put a pin in my location map.

Current Tank Info: 225G, BK 300 Deluxe, Deltec PF601, Precision Marine Kalkreactor, 2-LMIII+6 pumps, SpectraPure UHE, Apex, LunarSim, Tunze 6305s. Mixed reef, clam, fish, etc.
kenargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/25/2008, 03:26 PM   #3
scbauer
The Buff Reefer
 
scbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,696
Thanks Ken, checked both of those. There are no other statements related to the MN1 timer and MN1 is the only timer to use address F11.

The thing that was strange was that when I set the date on the AC Jr to 7/21/08, the light turned on, then when I set it to 7/22/08 the light turned off.

Do you know if there is somewhere I can find the moon simulation table that shows moonrise and moonset times as well as intensity? In other words, on date xx/xx/xx, the moon should be X% of full brightness? I'm thinking it is a fairly new moon right now, and maybe it is actually supposed to be off (or the moon is setting very early in the evening).

Thanks!

-Scott


__________________
offical member of the "WIAGAS" club

"Wondering If Anybody Gives A ...."
...for when your thread has 50 posts, and 48 of them are yours

Current Tank Info: 56-Gallon In-Wall... Check out my webpage to see my build thread!
scbauer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/25/2008, 03:44 PM   #4
kenargo
Premium Member
 
kenargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 8,151
It looks that everything is correct and it should dim when the moon cycle is (well) dim

The tables are part of the Season tables but you will need to connect using AquaNotes in order to access them; i don't know of a wa to access them using the menus.


__________________
Click on my name to visit my homepage and access a collection of AquaController and Apex software, tips, trick and other Q&A including a link to the 'unofficial Apex new users guide' with loads of helpful information and don't forget to put a pin in my location map.

Current Tank Info: 225G, BK 300 Deluxe, Deltec PF601, Precision Marine Kalkreactor, 2-LMIII+6 pumps, SpectraPure UHE, Apex, LunarSim, Tunze 6305s. Mixed reef, clam, fish, etc.
kenargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/25/2008, 04:27 PM   #5
scbauer
The Buff Reefer
 
scbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,696
Okay, well I just found a moon rise/set table online and it looks like the moon doesn't rise until about 10:00 or 10:30 at night this week, so it is possible the moon hadn't risen while I was working on the tank last night. I'll double-check again tonight by setting the clock to midnight. It also looks like we are currently about half way between a full moon and a new moon, so I should see the bulb turn on then quickly dim to half intensity, right?

-Scott


__________________
offical member of the "WIAGAS" club

"Wondering If Anybody Gives A ...."
...for when your thread has 50 posts, and 48 of them are yours

Current Tank Info: 56-Gallon In-Wall... Check out my webpage to see my build thread!
scbauer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/25/2008, 07:15 PM   #6
clp
RC Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,311
Yes, you should see the light dim when it is in auto mode.

Curt


clp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/27/2008, 10:41 PM   #7
laverda
Registered Member
 
laverda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 6,721
You did not say what you have the moon light plugged in to. but if your using a DC8 it would have to be plugged in to F8 or F16 for the light to dim.


__________________
240G mixed reef, 29G SPS/LPS clam tank, 50G mixed reef

Current Tank Info: 300g mixed reef, 50g cube
laverda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/28/2008, 03:15 AM   #8
scbauer
The Buff Reefer
 
scbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,696
Quote:
Originally posted by laverda
You did not say what you have the moon light plugged in to. but if your using a DC8 it would have to be plugged in to F8 or F16 for the light to dim.
Per original post, it's plugged into an X10 lamp module, channel F11, but thanks.

Actually, I decided to look up the moonrise and moonset table, as well as new moon and full moon dates. I thought I read somewhere that the AquaControllers moon and sun simulators are based on somewhere in the caribbean, so that's what I looked for.

Turns out, right now, the moon is setting around 10:30 pm, so when I'm working on my tank at midnight, the moonlight should be off. It looks like everything is working correct, I just happen to be checking at bad times.

Thanks for all the input.

-Scott


__________________
offical member of the "WIAGAS" club

"Wondering If Anybody Gives A ...."
...for when your thread has 50 posts, and 48 of them are yours

Current Tank Info: 56-Gallon In-Wall... Check out my webpage to see my build thread!
scbauer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.