Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > International Club Forums > Okinawa Saltwater Gang
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 09/22/2008, 05:53 AM   #1
dkermitb
Registered Member

Lights--A Burning Issues?

I've wanted a metal halite light for a while now and finally had the opportunity to buy one used from someone on the island last night. I bought it for a fair price and it seems like it would be perfect for my 55gal aqurium. Although I would like to add another one later on down the road, perhaps around the Christmas timeframe.

I still haven't found anything wrong with the light, but since I'm new to these T-1 lights, I'm kind of scared of the risk of fire. I have not yet built a hood for my aquarium and I need ideas that are safe to for my home as well. I've been thinking about building a wooden frame around the light and then using some kind of metal at the top to handle the heat. I've even thought it might be a good idea to leave the top part open and let the light radiate out--I'm still not sold on this idea, but it would allow better ventilation for the hot lights. I also want the back of my canopy to be gone for ventilation reasons

When I got the light home I set it up on my plastic hood--it started to melt the plactic. The light is encased and even the casing gave off a lot of light. I didn't even give the ballest a chance to heat up, I'm sure it gets just as hot on the ground--as the previous owner fairly warned me.

I know that others have got away with wood frames to hold their lights, but I still feel kind of unsafe leaving the house with that hot of a light near wood. Please feel free to drop me some ideas and recommendations if you have got around the heat issue. I'm really liking my new toy, I'm just trying to make sure I'm doing it safely. I don't wanna be "that guy" you see catching his house on fire in your work emails...

Kermie