Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/06/2008, 05:07 PM   #1
stugray
Premium Member
 
stugray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Longmont, Co
Posts: 4,567
Does ANYBODY know of a free email service that provides non SSL, smtp access?

I am trying to get the email in my Aquacontroller 3 Pro working, but I cant make it work with my Internet Service Provider.

My ISP only allows incoming email via SMTP if it is using secure connection (SSL).

I have tried gmail, mail.com, login.live, etc, but cannot find a server that works.

What do you all use that have AC3Pros???

Help!

Stu


__________________
Some people think that I have Attention Deficit Disorder. They just dont understand that........ Hey! Look a chicken!

Well, We KNOW GOD exists, but for US to exist without a GOD is preposterous….Umm wait a minute…. Sounds a bit circular to me…

Current Tank Info: 125 Gal. display w/80 gal mud/caulerpa sump. Basement sump w/ LED Grow Light,Gravity fed Reeflo200 skimmer w/ ORCA Recirc, DIY calc reactor & kalk stirrer. Inline plumbed 75 Gal frag/settling tank.
stugray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/06/2008, 05:36 PM   #2
1DeR9_3Hy
Registered Member
 
1DeR9_3Hy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,575
I dont know any off hand, but you could just get an email package from 1and1.com then setup an email acct on there and use the SMTP offered through the service. But you would be looking at a few bucks a month to do that (<$3).


__________________
I hope it never catches on, I like having the oldest tank on here and I don't have to worry about calcification, bio pellets, Vodka dosing, DSBs, Chaetomorpha (I don't even know what that is) Carbonite hardness and all of these other things many people worry about.

If I had to think about all of that stuff I would get a stroke.
My test kit came in a wooden box and the directions say to keep in a cool chariott.
I throw some food in the tank, wave hello to the fish and go out with my wife and have a nice glass of merlot with dinner.
Have a great day but most of all, have fun.

-PaulB

Current Tank Info: 27 Gallon DAS softy/fish reef
1DeR9_3Hy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/06/2008, 06:32 PM   #3
Khandurian
Completely Insane!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cocoa Beach Florida Baby!!!
Posts: 163
Find out if one of your local friends has Road Runner. If so, their email doesnt require SSL (atleast not in my area).

For grins and giggles, try smtp-server.cfl.rr.com

Doubt it will work, but eh why not give it a try!


__________________
90 Gallon Tank
130lbs Rock
6" DSB
20 gallon sump/refugium
CoralVue XP1000SSS Skimmer
Khandurian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/06/2008, 06:35 PM   #4
Khandurian
Completely Insane!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cocoa Beach Florida Baby!!!
Posts: 163
I was just reading through the installation manual. What you could do, is create a script file to send an email using the email program your normally use.

Of course, you wouldn't know what the error really was until you logged into the program. but at least you get a warning!


__________________
90 Gallon Tank
130lbs Rock
6" DSB
20 gallon sump/refugium
CoralVue XP1000SSS Skimmer
Khandurian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/06/2008, 07:41 PM   #5
stugray
Premium Member
 
stugray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Longmont, Co
Posts: 4,567
Khandurian,

"What you could do, is create a script file "

And run it on what? the Aquacontroller?

I have a Linux box, but I was trying to avoid running a smtp server in my LAN, JUST for the aquacontroller to work.



BTW - Khandurian

I will be visiting "Cocoa Beach Florida" in the next few weeks. Got any hot tips on a rental unit or a good realtor that deals in rental units?

Stu


__________________
Some people think that I have Attention Deficit Disorder. They just dont understand that........ Hey! Look a chicken!

Well, We KNOW GOD exists, but for US to exist without a GOD is preposterous….Umm wait a minute…. Sounds a bit circular to me…

Current Tank Info: 125 Gal. display w/80 gal mud/caulerpa sump. Basement sump w/ LED Grow Light,Gravity fed Reeflo200 skimmer w/ ORCA Recirc, DIY calc reactor & kalk stirrer. Inline plumbed 75 Gal frag/settling tank.
stugray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 12:17 AM   #6
gilweb
Registered Member
 
gilweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island
Posts: 290
Stu,

Your AC3 accepts mail? Usually an ISP will only block inbound smtp (port 25). They usually dont block outbound smtp.

This is done to prevent you from running a mail server at your house. If they blocked outbound smtp no mail would go out if you are using a mail client and the server you connect to uses smtp.

Maybe im confused at what you are trying to do as I dont have an AC3.

Gil


gilweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 07:14 AM   #7
ducklabdad
Registered Member
 
ducklabdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: olive branch mississippi
Posts: 1,193
In many medical facillities now with the restrictions due to Hippa regulations and fines associated with these they are being blocked both ways.

It is within our company and is very good at doing so!!


__________________
I'M innocent! Please don't call the Tang Police!!

Current Tank Info: 55 gallon reef ("growing daily"). 5.5 gallon El Salvador Pico, 30 sea horse under way!!
ducklabdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 08:52 AM   #8
gilweb
Registered Member
 
gilweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island
Posts: 290
Quote:
In many medical facillities now with the restrictions due to Hippa regulations and fines associated with these they are being blocked both ways.
That means your company is probably blocking it with a local firewall. This is done all the time. If your company has an internal email system it is more likely you are all MAPI (Microsoft Exchange) or NRPC (Lotus Notes (if I remeber corectly)) clients. You do not need SMTP to communicate internally between client and server.

Gil


gilweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 09:15 AM   #9
Runfrumu
Hi
 
Runfrumu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally posted by Khandurian
Find out if one of your local friends has Road Runner. If so, their email doesnt require SSL (atleast not in my area).

For grins and giggles, try smtp-server.cfl.rr.com

Doubt it will work, but eh why not give it a try!
If he knows anyone who has it he can get them to set up one for him, since they get up to 10 on RR and check it through webmail.


Runfrumu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 09:44 AM   #10
Khandurian
Completely Insane!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cocoa Beach Florida Baby!!!
Posts: 163
Call down to any Realtor. I believe the place is called Windrush. Weekend and weekly rentals available right on the beach.

Nice place. Not too fancy and the price is right.

When you configured your linux box did you configure it to receive email? If you did, then just setup your email account on it. configure it to not check for email and use it for your sendmail only.

Otherwise, check this list of free smtp servers!

http://www.e-eeasy.com/SMTPServerList.aspx

I would stick with the yahoo servers. You have better luck of them staying up!


__________________
90 Gallon Tank
130lbs Rock
6" DSB
20 gallon sump/refugium
CoralVue XP1000SSS Skimmer
Khandurian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 10:07 AM   #11
gilweb
Registered Member
 
gilweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island
Posts: 290
Stu,

What are you using for a DNS server in you IP configuration?

Gil


gilweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 10:42 AM   #12
jman77
Registered Member
 
jman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 2,467
Khandurian,

"What you could do, is create a script file "

What scipt you are talking about ... the only scripting i see is related to the regular PLC Stuff.


STU,
Why don't u post in the Neptune Systems forum under the Vendors section, i'm sure you would get the info there .


jman77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 12:09 PM   #13
stugray
Premium Member
 
stugray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Longmont, Co
Posts: 4,567
Thanks to everyone.

Here are some more details:

The AC 3 Pro can send outgoing emails when the alarm goes off.
It is not setup to use encryption ( SSL) so the email server ( outgoing) that I choose cannot be using SSL.

IF I have an account on the server, I can use authentication, but there is an option for no Auth.

All of the accounts that I already have use SSL ( login.live.com , gmail, etc. ) so I cannot use them.

It is also VERY difficult to try different servers since with the AC3Pro, you MUST enter the info from the front panel buttons ( PITA ).

SO.... I also have a wireless webcam ( Linksys WVC54GCA ) that provides the same features ( email notification on motion sense ), but I can configure all the server info from the web interface.

I tried a LOT of the servers from the list above, but CANNOT get any to work through the webcam. I figured if I got that to work, I would try the settings on the AC3Pro.

gilweb,

I am using a qwest DSL router on my LAN for my default DNS server.


jman77,

I DO have a thread on the neptune forum, but I have been trying all weekend to get this working & Curt probably wont respond over the weekend.

SO my other options are: Configure exim on my XP box under cygwin & use it as a email server, OR configure my linux box as an email server & leave it on all the time.

Or PAY to get ANOTHER Email account & HOPE it works ( then keep paying to get another until I find one that works......)

ARRRGH!!

Stu


__________________
Some people think that I have Attention Deficit Disorder. They just dont understand that........ Hey! Look a chicken!

Well, We KNOW GOD exists, but for US to exist without a GOD is preposterous….Umm wait a minute…. Sounds a bit circular to me…

Current Tank Info: 125 Gal. display w/80 gal mud/caulerpa sump. Basement sump w/ LED Grow Light,Gravity fed Reeflo200 skimmer w/ ORCA Recirc, DIY calc reactor & kalk stirrer. Inline plumbed 75 Gal frag/settling tank.
stugray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 12:29 PM   #14
gilweb
Registered Member
 
gilweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island
Posts: 290
OK, I gotcha. The AC3 does not have a SMTP server built in, it simply connects to one to relay mail for it.

I belive with godaddy you can choose wheather to use encryption or not. I think it's $15 a year for 1gb.

Here is a link to their personal email plans: Personal Email Plans


gilweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 03:27 PM   #15
Khandurian
Completely Insane!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cocoa Beach Florida Baby!!!
Posts: 163
Did you try that website? They have lists of non SSL smtp servers! Just chose one input it in and see if it works!

For those of you confused, a script file is like a batch file. You create a file that will automatically open the email program, send a preformed txt file and then close the program.

(I have alot of computer back ground)

The AC3 has an option to run an external program. So just do the above.

Heres another website to explain it alot better.

http://www.petri.co.il/send_mail_from_script.htm


__________________
90 Gallon Tank
130lbs Rock
6" DSB
20 gallon sump/refugium
CoralVue XP1000SSS Skimmer
Khandurian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 03:54 PM   #16
stugray
Premium Member
 
stugray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Longmont, Co
Posts: 4,567
Khandurian,

I tried at least a dozen of those websites from my webcam and none worked.

I am now worried that my ISP is blocking outgoing smtp unless it is directed to their server. That would explain most of my difficulty.

Thanks for the link to the scripted email, I have been trying to do that from within a perl script on Unix for a completely different purpose.

However, the AC3Pro is not an open source OS that I can run programs on. I have three linux OSes though ( BusyBox on a simple-share NAS, the other Ubuntu Desktop).

Stu


__________________
Some people think that I have Attention Deficit Disorder. They just dont understand that........ Hey! Look a chicken!

Well, We KNOW GOD exists, but for US to exist without a GOD is preposterous….Umm wait a minute…. Sounds a bit circular to me…

Current Tank Info: 125 Gal. display w/80 gal mud/caulerpa sump. Basement sump w/ LED Grow Light,Gravity fed Reeflo200 skimmer w/ ORCA Recirc, DIY calc reactor & kalk stirrer. Inline plumbed 75 Gal frag/settling tank.
stugray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 05:08 PM   #17
Khandurian
Completely Insane!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cocoa Beach Florida Baby!!!
Posts: 163
Ok I found this on the net. It works! I know because one of my many email servers requires SSL.

Copy the code into notepad.
Edit the normal areas.
Save as mail.vbs

To test your settings just double click the file! Wait about oh, 1 minute. If you dont get a popup it works. Make sure you edit for your SMTP port. It should be the same, but your isp will verify.

In your AC3, there is an area to execute a program. Point it to mail.vbs. Create an error and watch your email box!

Code:
Const cdoSendUsingPickup = 1 'Send message using the local SMTP service pickup directory. 
 Const cdoSendUsingPort = 2 'Send the message using the network (SMTP over the network). 
 
 Const cdoAnonymous = 0 'Do not authenticate
 Const cdoBasic = 1 'basic (clear-text) authentication
 Const cdoNTLM = 2 'NTLM
 
 Set objMessage = CreateObject("CDO.Message") 
 objMessage.Subject = "AC3 Error Msg!" 
 objMessage.From = """name"" <[email protected]>" 
 objMessage.To = "[email protected]" 
 objMessage.TextBody = "Your AC3 has an error! Need to check it!"
 
 '==This section provides the configuration information for the remote SMTP server.
 
 objMessage.Configuration.Fields.Item _
 ("http://schemas.microsoft.com/cdo/configuration/sendusing") = 2 
 
 'Name or IP of Remote SMTP Server
 objMessage.Configuration.Fields.Item _
 ("http://schemas.microsoft.com/cdo/configuration/smtpserver") = "mail.your.com"
 
 'Type of authentication, NONE, Basic (Base64 encoded), NTLM
 objMessage.Configuration.Fields.Item _
 ("http://schemas.microsoft.com/cdo/configuration/smtpauthenticate") = cdoBasic
 
 'Your UserID on the SMTP server
 objMessage.Configuration.Fields.Item _
  ("http://schemas.microsoft.com/cdo/configuration/sendusername") = "youruserid"
 
 'Your password on the SMTP server
 objMessage.Configuration.Fields.Item _
 ("http://schemas.microsoft.com/cdo/configuration/sendpassword") = "yourpassword"
 
 'Server port (typically 25)
 objMessage.Configuration.Fields.Item _
 ("http://schemas.microsoft.com/cdo/configuration/smtpserverport") = 25 
   
 'Use SSL for the connection (False or True)
 objMessage.Configuration.Fields.Item _
 ("http://schemas.microsoft.com/cdo/configuration/smtpusessl") = True
 
 'Connection Timeout in seconds (the maximum time CDO will try to establish a connection to the SMTP   server)
 objMessage.Configuration.Fields.Item _
 ("http://schemas.microsoft.com/cdo/configuration/smtpconnectiontimeout") = 60
 
 objMessage.Configuration.Fields.Update
 
 '==End remote SMTP server configuration section==  
 
 objMessage.Send



__________________
90 Gallon Tank
130lbs Rock
6" DSB
20 gallon sump/refugium
CoralVue XP1000SSS Skimmer

Last edited by Khandurian; 12/07/2008 at 05:20 PM.
Khandurian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 06:12 PM   #18
gilweb
Registered Member
 
gilweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island
Posts: 290
Stu,

You are correct, Quests DOES block outbound port 25 now to prevent spammers and bots sending mail.

"Yep. Qwest doesn't allow TCP 25 outbound for dynamic IP customers."


gilweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2008, 08:37 PM   #19
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,709
Stu, I have a simple solution for you. Your PM mailbox is full; I just sent you a normal email via RC.


RussM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2008, 12:07 AM   #20
jvdb
Registered Member
 
jvdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT
Posts: 262
If you can't find another solution, I'll give you an account on one of my mail servers. I allow auth without SSL, and I can run the SMTP on a non-standard port (currently run it on 25 and 8025). PM me if interested.

-Jake


jvdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/09/2008, 01:00 PM   #21
stugray
Premium Member
 
stugray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Longmont, Co
Posts: 4,567
jvdb,

RussM tried to help ( Thanks RussM! ), but cant get it to work due to an issue on his end.

I'll take you up on the offer.

PM sent

Stu


__________________
Some people think that I have Attention Deficit Disorder. They just dont understand that........ Hey! Look a chicken!

Well, We KNOW GOD exists, but for US to exist without a GOD is preposterous….Umm wait a minute…. Sounds a bit circular to me…

Current Tank Info: 125 Gal. display w/80 gal mud/caulerpa sump. Basement sump w/ LED Grow Light,Gravity fed Reeflo200 skimmer w/ ORCA Recirc, DIY calc reactor & kalk stirrer. Inline plumbed 75 Gal frag/settling tank.
stugray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/10/2008, 08:13 PM   #22
stugray
Premium Member
 
stugray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Longmont, Co
Posts: 4,567
Here's a question:

When I set my linksys camera to NOT "specify a smtp server" IT WORKS!! Every free smtp server from the link above fails.

SO..... my camera must be asking the DNS server ( or the equivalent ) for a smtp server address..... & getting a valid one.

How can I do the same from the command line so I can figure out what to put in?

OR what does this mean?




BTW - RussM & jvdb has been extremely helpful in my effort & provided a way to get it to work for the first time ever.

Thank you!

Now I am trying to figure out what is wrong with my generic config.;-)

Stu


__________________
Some people think that I have Attention Deficit Disorder. They just dont understand that........ Hey! Look a chicken!

Well, We KNOW GOD exists, but for US to exist without a GOD is preposterous….Umm wait a minute…. Sounds a bit circular to me…

Current Tank Info: 125 Gal. display w/80 gal mud/caulerpa sump. Basement sump w/ LED Grow Light,Gravity fed Reeflo200 skimmer w/ ORCA Recirc, DIY calc reactor & kalk stirrer. Inline plumbed 75 Gal frag/settling tank.
stugray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:55 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014