Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/09/2009, 06:10 PM   #1
chem368
Registered Member

Skimmer Size

I am new to saltwater but have had FW for about 10 years, I am currently in the process of converting my 150 Gal tank to saltwater. My question is about the need/size of a skimmer. I do not have a sump as my tank is not drilled so I am currently running 2 Fluval 404s with Carbon. I would like to add a Skimmer but there is not much room behind my tank, I have found a nice deal for a CPR dual bak-pak but it is only rated for 100 Gal. My question is, is some skimmer better than none? OR is getting an under sized skimmer pointless?

My thoughts are that I could add a second skimmer to this if I find another good deal on one. Would this work?

Also, I am not sure if this is related but the alge in my tank is more yellowish that green, and my love rock is not growing any coraline. Is this a lighting problem or a water quality problem. My tank finished cycleing last week and all I have in the is a mated pair of clown fish.

chem368 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/09/2009, 06:19 PM   #2
kraze3
Registered Member

To Reef Central

you could do 2 skimmers but its probably gonna be more electricity than running one bigger skimmer.
Coraline will eventually start to grow, sometimes its slow sometimes its fast. Your tank is still very new. In the begining you need to take things slow.

kraze3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/09/2009, 06:26 PM   #3
chem368
Registered Member

What would be the effects of only running one for a couple months? Is one better than none? or is running one that is too small for my tank pointless and a waste of money?

Unread 02/09/2009, 06:26 PM   #4
chem368
Registered Member