Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/31/2009, 06:11 AM   #26
edandsandy
Registered Member
 
edandsandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 2,396
Blog Entries: 2
We are having a GHA problem too after reading many threads on about Alagefix Marine, I will purchase this product too. I have also read there is a Alagefix Freshwater. My LFS said there is no difference in the product...... I ask him if there is no difference then why do they make this product for both marine and fresh water?
I will purchase the Alagefix Marine product.


__________________
Sandy
><((((>`..><((((>`><((((>
..><((((>.. , . .><((((>..

Current Tank Info: 375 Reef, 4) Radion LED lights X30 pro, Apex Fusion, Octo Regal 300 E Skimmer, GEO 618 Calcium Reactor 2) Reeflo Snapper pumps, 2)50g refugium, 2) MP 40's
edandsandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/31/2009, 06:18 AM   #27
edandsandy
Registered Member
 
edandsandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 2,396
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally posted by john baker
I have dosed twice with Alagefix Marine, with my algae at about the stage of your pics, I have been battling this pest for 4 months and finally realized that it could be the storage of my R/O water. I have a 80 gallon storage tank which has an automatic refill from the R/O unit. With using only about 6 gallons a week, so contamination is a problem. I have now discarded all the stored water and only making enough R/O water to last the week. I will continue the Alagefix Marine dosage to clear the problem hoping it works.
Do you circulate your water?

We have (2) 65 gallon water storage tanks we normally keep full. I like the to keep the tops off, I think they need air, my husband likes to keep the tops on, he says they don't need air
We do circulate the tank water 3 x's a day for 15 minutes.
I wonder if storing this much water is causing my GHA now???????


__________________
Sandy
><((((>`..><((((>`><((((>
..><((((>.. , . .><((((>..

Current Tank Info: 375 Reef, 4) Radion LED lights X30 pro, Apex Fusion, Octo Regal 300 E Skimmer, GEO 618 Calcium Reactor 2) Reeflo Snapper pumps, 2)50g refugium, 2) MP 40's
edandsandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/31/2009, 06:23 AM   #28
HighlandReefer
Team RC Member

 
HighlandReefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Highland, Maryland Entomologist
Posts: 14,592
Both AlgaeFix for freshwater and AlgaeFix Marine have the identical concentration of the active ingredient.

They may be the same, but from my experience in using other products in my field of expertise, there may be some contaminates removed from the AlgaeFix Marine.

The main reason for the price difference, would be to help pay for the additional costs that the manufacturer paid to get the new EPA label for reef aquariums. IMHO, it is worth paying the extra cost to this manufacturer so that there may be more incentive to produce future products which will aid our hobby.


__________________
Cliff Babcock

Intestests: Digital Microscopy; Marine Pest Control; Marine Plants & Macroalgae

Current Tank Info: 180 g. mixed reef system
HighlandReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/31/2009, 06:33 AM   #29
HighlandReefer
Team RC Member

 
HighlandReefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Highland, Maryland Entomologist
Posts: 14,592
I would keep tops on your storage container to help keep contaminates from the air.......etc from entering the clean water.

Perhaps disinfecting and cleaning the container occasionally may have benefits if you notice any growth occurring in your storage water. I do not see why you should have growth in RODI water if your unit is working properly and you do not allow contaminates to enter the storage containers.


__________________
Cliff Babcock

Intestests: Digital Microscopy; Marine Pest Control; Marine Plants & Macroalgae

Current Tank Info: 180 g. mixed reef system
HighlandReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/31/2009, 06:40 AM   #30
edandsandy
Registered Member
 
edandsandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 2,396
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally posted by HighlandReefer
I would keep tops on your storage container to help keep contaminates from the air.......etc from entering the clean water.

Perhaps disinfecting and cleaning the container occasionally may have benefits if you notice any growth occurring in your storage water. I do not see why you should have growth in RODI water if your unit is working properly and you do not allow contaminates to enter these storage container.
Well, now Ed wins that battle with the tops on the storage tanks in the fish room


__________________
Sandy
><((((>`..><((((>`><((((>
..><((((>.. , . .><((((>..

Current Tank Info: 375 Reef, 4) Radion LED lights X30 pro, Apex Fusion, Octo Regal 300 E Skimmer, GEO 618 Calcium Reactor 2) Reeflo Snapper pumps, 2)50g refugium, 2) MP 40's
edandsandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/31/2009, 06:45 AM   #31
HighlandReefer
Team RC Member

 
HighlandReefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Highland, Maryland Entomologist
Posts: 14,592
You can't win them all.

My wife has a sign up in my workshop:

============================
House Rules

Rule NO. 1
Mom is always right.

Rule NO. 2
If Mom is wrong, see rule NO. 1
===========================



__________________
Cliff Babcock

Intestests: Digital Microscopy; Marine Pest Control; Marine Plants & Macroalgae

Current Tank Info: 180 g. mixed reef system

Last edited by HighlandReefer; 03/31/2009 at 06:51 AM.
HighlandReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/31/2009, 07:03 AM   #32
edandsandy
Registered Member
 
edandsandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 2,396
Blog Entries: 2
I think I need a sign like that in my fish room


__________________
Sandy
><((((>`..><((((>`><((((>
..><((((>.. , . .><((((>..

Current Tank Info: 375 Reef, 4) Radion LED lights X30 pro, Apex Fusion, Octo Regal 300 E Skimmer, GEO 618 Calcium Reactor 2) Reeflo Snapper pumps, 2)50g refugium, 2) MP 40's
edandsandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/31/2009, 06:14 PM   #33
john baker
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: australia
Posts: 46
The R/O water storage tank does have a cover and has only been used for this purpose since new when it was first sterilized, I since found out that if pure water is left sitting it will absorb air born contaminates. The R/O water had 6 PPM TDS at filtering time and 128 TDS in my storage tank. I emptied the tank and found algae growing on the inside walls. The tank is a dark green color so no light enters it.


john baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/01/2009, 10:55 AM   #34
edandsandy
Registered Member
 
edandsandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 2,396
Blog Entries: 2
We dosed the Algefix today.
Hope this works!


__________________
Sandy
><((((>`..><((((>`><((((>
..><((((>.. , . .><((((>..

Current Tank Info: 375 Reef, 4) Radion LED lights X30 pro, Apex Fusion, Octo Regal 300 E Skimmer, GEO 618 Calcium Reactor 2) Reeflo Snapper pumps, 2)50g refugium, 2) MP 40's
edandsandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/01/2009, 04:22 PM   #35
HighlandReefer
Team RC Member

 
HighlandReefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Highland, Maryland Entomologist
Posts: 14,592
edandsandy,

Keep us posted on your results, good or bad.


__________________
Cliff Babcock

Intestests: Digital Microscopy; Marine Pest Control; Marine Plants & Macroalgae

Current Tank Info: 180 g. mixed reef system
HighlandReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/01/2009, 05:26 PM   #36
zenzence
Premium Member
 
zenzence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 378
HighlanderReefer,
How you doing with the algae fix?? Any impact on your chaeto?

zenzence


__________________
zen x 2

Current Tank Info: 60 Gallon Cube/Lifereef Sump/AI light
zenzence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/01/2009, 05:57 PM   #37
edandsandy
Registered Member
 
edandsandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 2,396
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally posted by HighlandReefer
edandsandy,

Keep us posted on your results, good or bad.
OK, will do

I snapped a few pictures today of the GHA in the tank.
So our next dose will be on saturday.
see ya then!


__________________
Sandy
><((((>`..><((((>`><((((>
..><((((>.. , . .><((((>..

Current Tank Info: 375 Reef, 4) Radion LED lights X30 pro, Apex Fusion, Octo Regal 300 E Skimmer, GEO 618 Calcium Reactor 2) Reeflo Snapper pumps, 2)50g refugium, 2) MP 40's
edandsandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/02/2009, 05:13 AM   #38
HighlandReefer
Team RC Member

 
HighlandReefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Highland, Maryland Entomologist
Posts: 14,592
zenzence,

My Chaeto & Halimeda seem to be doing ok. The manufacturer had told me that AlgaeFix may slow the growth of macroalgae, but should not kill it.

I still have not had time to properly clean my tank, but the pest is still declining. My computer video card fried and had to replace it along with my C drive which was running out of room. That ended up a full days worth of work.


__________________
Cliff Babcock

Intestests: Digital Microscopy; Marine Pest Control; Marine Plants & Macroalgae

Current Tank Info: 180 g. mixed reef system
HighlandReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/02/2009, 04:00 PM   #39
zenzence
Premium Member
 
zenzence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 378
highlandReefer thanks for the response thats good to know I added some more flow and cut light down to a few hours a day for the next couple days. We shall see if it doesnt work going to try algae fix

Thanks


__________________
zen x 2

Current Tank Info: 60 Gallon Cube/Lifereef Sump/AI light
zenzence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/03/2009, 03:36 AM   #40
HighlandReefer
Team RC Member

 
HighlandReefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Highland, Maryland Entomologist
Posts: 14,592
zenzence,

Good luck with it. Keep us posted on results. What are your nitrate and phosphate levels at now? Pics of your pest are always helful for future reference.


__________________
Cliff Babcock

Intestests: Digital Microscopy; Marine Pest Control; Marine Plants & Macroalgae

Current Tank Info: 180 g. mixed reef system
HighlandReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/03/2009, 05:31 AM   #41
zenzence
Premium Member
 
zenzence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 378
HighlandReefer,
I recently downgraded from my 90 to a 34gallon Red Sea Max so my tank is still very new maybe 2 months. My nitrates and phosphates are both 0, I can only assume the algae is consuming both at the same rate they being produced. I did add a closed loop refugium about 2 weeks ago filled with cheato so hopefully this will help. I also siphoned off the algae with a 4 gallon h20 change which is a little more than 10%. Cant think of anything else to do right now this is day two with reduced lighting schedule. We shall see first time I have had a problem with algae. Maybe its not even a problem just new tank?

Thanks Cliff
Chad


__________________
zen x 2

Current Tank Info: 60 Gallon Cube/Lifereef Sump/AI light
zenzence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/03/2009, 05:49 AM   #42
HighlandReefer
Team RC Member

 
HighlandReefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Highland, Maryland Entomologist
Posts: 14,592
Chad,

Depending on exactly what pest you have, reduced nitrates and phosphates may not work in all cases. For example, If your pest happens to be a cyanobacteria, which resemble many of the algae, then reducing the nitrates & phosphates will help, but not completely eradicate the cyano in most cases.


__________________
Cliff Babcock

Intestests: Digital Microscopy; Marine Pest Control; Marine Plants & Macroalgae

Current Tank Info: 180 g. mixed reef system
HighlandReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/03/2009, 09:09 AM   #43
edandsandy
Registered Member
 
edandsandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 2,396
Blog Entries: 2
Added 2nd dose of Alagefix today. I didn't notice the GHA being affected with the first dose. I really didn't think I would.
Hopefully by the 3rd or 4th treatment we will see some die off.
I did notice my diatom on the gravel is starting to die back.


__________________
Sandy
><((((>`..><((((>`><((((>
..><((((>.. , . .><((((>..

Current Tank Info: 375 Reef, 4) Radion LED lights X30 pro, Apex Fusion, Octo Regal 300 E Skimmer, GEO 618 Calcium Reactor 2) Reeflo Snapper pumps, 2)50g refugium, 2) MP 40's
edandsandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/03/2009, 01:12 PM   #44
HighlandReefer
Team RC Member

 
HighlandReefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Highland, Maryland Entomologist
Posts: 14,592
It seems that most of the hobbyists who have used Algaefix Marine are seeing results after about 5 doses. Maybe you will see results sooner.


__________________
Cliff Babcock

Intestests: Digital Microscopy; Marine Pest Control; Marine Plants & Macroalgae

Current Tank Info: 180 g. mixed reef system
HighlandReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/03/2009, 03:11 PM   #45
edandsandy
Registered Member
 
edandsandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 2,396
Blog Entries: 2
ME TOO!

I did notice a lot in my sump today when I was cleaning the socks.
I just pulled it out, it was easily removed, not like in the tank.


__________________
Sandy
><((((>`..><((((>`><((((>
..><((((>.. , . .><((((>..

Current Tank Info: 375 Reef, 4) Radion LED lights X30 pro, Apex Fusion, Octo Regal 300 E Skimmer, GEO 618 Calcium Reactor 2) Reeflo Snapper pumps, 2)50g refugium, 2) MP 40's
edandsandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/03/2009, 08:05 PM   #46
iamwrasseman
Registered Member
 
iamwrasseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: syracuse
Posts: 7,046
it will take a few doses before you see anything ,then you will notice that it will stop growing ,thin out and lose all its strength .at that point you can siphon it off your rockwork .


__________________
This hobby certainly can put you in some weird positions !

Dave

Current Tank Info: 40 freshwater,25saltwater 2000 gallons ,enough tanks for an army ?
iamwrasseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/04/2009, 08:07 AM   #47
edandsandy
Registered Member
 
edandsandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 2,396
Blog Entries: 2
Thank you iamwrasseman,
correct me if I'm wrong.... didn't I read somewhere that you had great success wit this product?


__________________
Sandy
><((((>`..><((((>`><((((>
..><((((>.. , . .><((((>..

Current Tank Info: 375 Reef, 4) Radion LED lights X30 pro, Apex Fusion, Octo Regal 300 E Skimmer, GEO 618 Calcium Reactor 2) Reeflo Snapper pumps, 2)50g refugium, 2) MP 40's
edandsandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/04/2009, 08:16 AM   #48
iamwrasseman
Registered Member
 
iamwrasseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: syracuse
Posts: 7,046
let me just say it worked miracles for me !150 gal,35 wrasses,70 corals and a heapload of hairalgie six months ago .now i have 150gal,37wrasses 74corals and absolutly no hair algea !i have to add that i did also raise my mag level to 1650 for about three weeks before the algea fix and it was helping but after five or six doses of algea fix it was critically wounded and then i started pulling it off every thing ...........................it took some effort but worked miracles for me and there is no sign of it trying to grow back . i would work for that company,lol


__________________
This hobby certainly can put you in some weird positions !

Dave

Current Tank Info: 40 freshwater,25saltwater 2000 gallons ,enough tanks for an army ?
iamwrasseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/04/2009, 02:20 PM   #49
DaytonaJoe
Registered Member
 
DaytonaJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Warwick, Rhode Island
Posts: 202
I dosed Algaefix in a 90g and saw results after the first dose. The tips of my hair algae turned a lighter color as if dieing. By the fourth dose my algae was all dead. At that point I decided to stop dosing and start up a refugium to try and keep the algae away. Well, I wish I just continued with algaefix...


__________________
______________________________________________________________________________

Joe's tank in progress...

60g Shallow SPS reef
DaytonaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/04/2009, 04:39 PM   #50
iamwrasseman
Registered Member
 
iamwrasseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: syracuse
Posts: 7,046
i still keep a once a week dose for maintaining the algea free enviroment as the lable states is needed


__________________
This hobby certainly can put you in some weird positions !

Dave

Current Tank Info: 40 freshwater,25saltwater 2000 gallons ,enough tanks for an army ?
iamwrasseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ganjero

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RowaPhos and Hair Algae? GlassReef Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment 74 11/21/2012 12:51 AM
zoas have green hair algae growing in side coraltankmaster Zoanthids 6 02/05/2012 10:45 PM
Hair Algae...Give Me Your Thoughts blemere Reef Discussion 36 10/12/2011 07:49 PM
taming my hair algae BradMugs Do It Yourself 13 02/27/2011 08:14 PM
Hair algae on chaetomorpha? krazedkazoo Tampa Bay Reef Club 6 08/23/2010 10:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014