Reef Central Online Community
Premium Aquatics

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > GHL /ProfiLux / Mitras
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 09/29/2009, 01:59 PM   #1
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
Exclamation Spot Light On GHL dosing systems and uses

Due to such massive demand we are putting the spot light on the GHL dosing systems with built in controllers

The GHL SA Doser range.


(picture of 4 pump version. 1,2,3 pump also available, all can be upgraded by simply fitting another pump to the front)

If you are looking for one of highest quality Dosing systems on the market look no further, and you will also be shocked how affordable they are.

Why buy GHL dosing systems?

The GHL stand alone dosers come in 1-2-3 and 4 pump versions, each model from 1 to 3 can be upgraded by simply clicking in a new pump assy making it very affordable to upgrade the unit if required, furthermore if your needs exceed 4 pumps you just simply purchase a slave unit (without controller), bringing a maximum amount of controllable pumps to 8.

The GHL SA range give you three easy to program functions

Auto mode
Manual mode
Manual pump override

Auto mode
In the mode you simply set how many ML you wish each pump station to dose over a 24 hour period and the controller will auto dose each programme over a 24 hour period never overlapping two dosings at any one time.

Manual Mode.
In this mode you program how much you want to dose and what time.

Manual Pump override
By pressing the red button on the front of the controller, the corresponding pump will dose your required amount if you ever need to give a supplement boost.

Simple intuitive and full of all functions the user requires

The dosers can be programmed to dose as little as 1ml a day up to 60ml a minute! (or 1ml a second!)

The units being made by GHL you have no concerns about longevity or servicing when required

ALL parts built in Germany.
Dosing pumps are medical grade
100% fully serviceable all parts are available, no need to replace the whole pump assembly
2 year warranty on main units
1 year warranty on all dosing pumps and motor parts

Now heres the good bit.

Prices start as low as $339.00 up to $542.00 for the 4 pump module, now go check out units with lesser features and functionality and you will see there is not much difference in price.

So if you are looking for a doser to control your supplements and are looking for a unit that will last the test of time, check out the GHL range of stand alone dosers first!



Check out a this independant review also

http://glassbox-design.com/2008/prof...-dosing-pumps/


__________________
Michael Hall
Tank Build and product reviews coming soon.
60x30x24
Ecotech powered, OLD Profilux 3 but looking to upgrade when market settles, Seneye Monitored, Bubble Magus DC Skimmed.

Current Tank Info: Floating about on the water enjoying semi retirement!!
AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/29/2009, 02:05 PM   #2
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
Next there is the slave doser



This unit has all the features above but without the built in controller instead controlled by the GHL profiLux aquatic controller. The advantage of this unit when controlled by the ProfiLux is that you can also incorporate either very simple right up to highly demanding water change cycles and top offs.

The slave unit is also compatible with the stand alone doser system and as such can expand the range up to 8 pump dosing systems.

for pricing go to www.ghl-direct.com


__________________
Michael Hall
Tank Build and product reviews coming soon.
60x30x24
Ecotech powered, OLD Profilux 3 but looking to upgrade when market settles, Seneye Monitored, Bubble Magus DC Skimmed.

Current Tank Info: Floating about on the water enjoying semi retirement!!
AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/29/2009, 05:53 PM   #3
stealle
Premium Member
 
stealle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 524
I can't imagine ever needing more than 8 pumps, but if you have a Profilux controller I guess you could have even more than 8 pumps correct? (i.e. three 4 pump slave units for a total of 12 pumps). Thanks


stealle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/29/2009, 06:11 PM   #4
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
Hi

I will split this in three as the answer depends on the controller.

stand alone Doser with built in controller -

It can control up to 8 pumps max 4 from the stand alone doser and 4 from the slave that connects to the SA

ProfiLux Plus II with the slave

It can control a max of 8 pumps (2 x slave units)

ProfiLux 3 with PAB doser

Infinate amounts of units and pumps.

In answer to your very valid Pm questions

It does not matter what controller you use if using the profiLux aquatic controllers to control the slave dosers, the only difference will be the total amount of pumps controllable as mentioned above.

The SA dosers can work both on schedule in ML and time it also has an auto mode where you can set the amount you want dosed and it will split the dosing evenly across the pumps

No two dosers can be on at the same time

You can have a pump dose any amount (within the units limits) at any time you want providing it does not clash with another pumps timed cycle.

Only the stand alone has auto mode where you just set the amount to be dosed and it will work it out for you over a 24 hour period, the slave is more intuitive due to being connected to a full bodied aquatic controller.

Hope that helps

Oh - if looking at buying a P3 get the Plus II quickly then buy the upgrade kit before the middle of October and get over $100 off the cost of the upgrade kit

In regards to the NEW P3 PAB slave doser release - I do not have a release date as yet, but the dosers available now work with the P3 and remember the only advantage of the PAB version is you can have more than 8 pumps!


__________________
Michael Hall
Tank Build and product reviews coming soon.
60x30x24
Ecotech powered, OLD Profilux 3 but looking to upgrade when market settles, Seneye Monitored, Bubble Magus DC Skimmed.

Current Tank Info: Floating about on the water enjoying semi retirement!!

Last edited by AQD_ottawa; 09/29/2009 at 06:18 PM.
AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/21/2009, 04:40 PM   #5
strendo
Premium Member
 
strendo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 362
Just ordered one, I'm sick of those cheap dosingpumps dying on me!


strendo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/21/2009, 04:44 PM   #6
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
Sweet

Here is the manual so you can get a head start before it arrives

http://www.aquariumcomputer.com/Down...A_07082008.pdf

Any questions - always here to help


__________________
Michael Hall
Tank Build and product reviews coming soon.
60x30x24
Ecotech powered, OLD Profilux 3 but looking to upgrade when market settles, Seneye Monitored, Bubble Magus DC Skimmed.

Current Tank Info: Floating about on the water enjoying semi retirement!!
AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/31/2009, 06:53 AM   #7
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
We are pleased to announce more and more USA dealers are now carying these, please contact us to locate one of the most hot reef equipment items


AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/31/2009, 10:24 AM   #8
liver
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 329
can you connect 1/4" RO tubing to these? I have much better luck with it then airline tubing.


liver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/31/2009, 10:48 AM   #9
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
Hi

Yes you could but if dosing mineral salts be aware that the tubing can clog like a cholestral filled vessel and being hard walled you can not clean it easily this is where silicon tubing is ideal


AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/31/2009, 11:00 AM   #10
liver
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 329
Good point, will have to try silicone next...
I have tried Vinyl, Norprene and the CO2 reistant stuff and had the best luck with RO tubing as far as not clogging and holding suction.


liver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/02/2010, 10:03 AM   #11
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
I always found silicon the best, but I also see the benefit of hard wall tubing.


AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/02/2010, 10:59 AM   #12
stealle
Premium Member
 
stealle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 524
This is not a pic of the GHL doser, but you should be able to do something similar. I plan to hook up the GHL doser like this...

[image "borrowed" from GlassReef: http://reefcentral.com/forums/showth...482007&page=36 ]




stealle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/02/2010, 11:14 AM   #13
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
WOW when you see pics like that of the competitors doser offerings you can see why the GHL dosers are in such hot demand!

The container plumbing shows a real good and importantly cheap option though for sure. It is so important to kep the lid on the calcium clhoride due to its corrosive properties.



Last edited by AQD_ottawa; 01/02/2010 at 11:32 AM.
AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/02/2010, 10:12 PM   #14
rick99vt
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 47
What is the maximum height these dosing units can pull from and still maintain suction in between dosing cycles?


rick99vt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2010, 06:22 AM   #15
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
We have tested these to 20 feet. The use of a non return valve at this height is useful.


AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2010, 07:58 AM   #16
boboxx
Registered Member
 
boboxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fredericton, NB, Canada
Posts: 790
I have a run of about 8' high, 15' across and 4' high again set up for my ato in the basement, works like a chram


__________________
*

Current Tank Info: 220G System, 180g Display, 3x 250W 14k MH, 2x T5HO, 1x SimuL light stick, 1x Tunze 6215 2x Tunze 6105, 1x Tunze 6055, 1x Octopus Extreme 300 Skimmer, 1x Profilux 3 EX (Temp, PH, Conductivity, Orp), 2x Profilux 4 dosing station
boboxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2010, 09:28 AM   #17
hansonfam
Registered Member
 
hansonfam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 834
I went to your website, and i didnt see anything about the stand alone dosers with just two dosing pumps?


__________________
35 Gallon Solana Gigantea anemone species tank, 90 SPS dominated reef tank!!

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon-Numerous corals,2 purple tangs,choclate mimic tang,yellow wrasse *2.In the 35 gallon 1 purple gig and 1 multi colour gig,pair of mis bar Aussie black clowns and a lawnmower Blennie!
hansonfam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2010, 09:54 AM   #18
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
I will get this fixed not sure why it is not listed but please call 1-866-997-7333 (PST)tomorrow for pricing, any problems just pm me.


AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2010, 09:55 AM   #19
boboxx
Registered Member
 
boboxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fredericton, NB, Canada
Posts: 790
the doser are listed here:
http://www.ghl-direct.com/ghl-dosing.php

A 2 pump SA is available and is priced at 416$ CAN... extra pumps can be added to a max of 4 (97$)


__________________
*

Current Tank Info: 220G System, 180g Display, 3x 250W 14k MH, 2x T5HO, 1x SimuL light stick, 1x Tunze 6215 2x Tunze 6105, 1x Tunze 6055, 1x Octopus Extreme 300 Skimmer, 1x Profilux 3 EX (Temp, PH, Conductivity, Orp), 2x Profilux 4 dosing station

Last edited by boboxx; 01/03/2010 at 10:03 AM.
boboxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2010, 09:58 AM   #20
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
I cant see it on the web page

need to get this rectified.


AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2010, 05:50 AM   #21
rsuplido
Registered Member
 
rsuplido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 694
I was hoping to get 4 replacement tubing (PL-0586) but GHL-direct charges more than the cost of the four tubes for shipping to the US. Why isn't there a 'regular mail' option? Any other local US sellers?


rsuplido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2010, 06:17 AM   #22
AQD_ottawa
Registered Member
 
AQD_ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK/Canada
Posts: 9,485
Blog Entries: 33
for teh tubing as it is so small you need to call progressive reef for this they can send it out to you in letter mail very cheapily you can find their details here www.progressivereef.com


AQD_ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/05/2010, 01:23 PM   #23
liver
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by AQD_ottawa View Post
I always found silicon the best, but I also see the benefit of hard wall tubing.
1/4" or 3/8" tubing, which is the best fit?


liver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/05/2010, 01:46 PM   #24
boboxx
Registered Member
 
boboxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fredericton, NB, Canada
Posts: 790
1/4


__________________
*

Current Tank Info: 220G System, 180g Display, 3x 250W 14k MH, 2x T5HO, 1x SimuL light stick, 1x Tunze 6215 2x Tunze 6105, 1x Tunze 6055, 1x Octopus Extreme 300 Skimmer, 1x Profilux 3 EX (Temp, PH, Conductivity, Orp), 2x Profilux 4 dosing station
boboxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/06/2010, 02:25 PM   #25
aka_lal
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 54
How high can the pumps push up if placed under the aquarium. (don't have sump)?


aka_lal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014