Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 06/26/2010, 07:58 PM   #1
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
Vertex Pro Bio Pellets

Since there is a thread for the other 2 Bio Pellet products I thought I would start one on the Vertex Pro Bio Pellets.



I adapted my old Zeovit reactor for the new Pellets


This is the Reactor in action



__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 08:00 PM   #2
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
I am am switching from Zeovit to this Product so I already Have a ULNS and am hopping this product will keep my P04 and Nitrate undetectable.


__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 08:12 PM   #3
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
These pellets look a little diffrent from what I can see in the other pictures. I would be nice if someone could post close ups of the other products.





sorry for the quality of the pictures.


__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 09:20 PM   #4
mal1099
Registered Member
 
mal1099's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 245
bmwaaron, I am also running this pellets. I did get a bacterial bloom after a few days and it lasted about 3 days. My system was at 5-10 nitrates and 0.1 phosphates when i started. After 5 days using this product both went to zero. I would recommend trying to run the output of your reactor thru your skimmer is possible. I did this and seems to be going good so far. Also looking at your reactor those pellets building up at the top need to be moved down or removed they all need to be tumbling from i have been told. I believe the none tumbling pellets are what cause the bacterial blooms since i found a few just sitting in my sump from when the pump to reactor started up. I removed them and the bacterial bloom was gone soon after. So good luck and keep us posted with your success.


mal1099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 09:34 PM   #5
nmbeg
Registered Member
 
nmbeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 894
from the other threads, people seem to indicate that too much agitation actually sends bacteria flying and causes a bloom in the water column. This seems to be an ongoing debate though.


nmbeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 09:34 PM   #6
nmbeg
Registered Member
 
nmbeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 894
so, where can I buy me some bio-pellets?


nmbeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 10:43 PM   #7
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
Premium Aquatics is selling them


__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 10:51 PM   #8
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by mal1099 View Post
I would recommend trying to run the output of your reactor thru your skimmer is possible. I did this and seems to be going good so far. Also looking at your reactor those pellets building up at the top need to be moved down or removed they all need to be tumbling from i have been told. .
I have the output of the reactor going to the protein skimmer. Also the picture I took was from when the pellets were first put in the reactor so there was a section that was floating for an hour or 2 but now all the pellets are moving in the reactor.


__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 10:58 PM   #9
soulsigma
Registered Member
 
soulsigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by mal1099 View Post
bmwaaron, I am also running this pellets. I did get a bacterial bloom after a few days and it lasted about 3 days. My system was at 5-10 nitrates and 0.1 phosphates when i started. After 5 days using this product both went to zero. I would recommend trying to run the output of your reactor thru your skimmer is possible. I did this and seems to be going good so far. Also looking at your reactor those pellets building up at the top need to be moved down or removed they all need to be tumbling from i have been told. I believe the none tumbling pellets are what cause the bacterial blooms since i found a few just sitting in my sump from when the pump to reactor started up. I removed them and the bacterial bloom was gone soon after. So good luck and keep us posted with your success.
Did you add the entire package of pellets @ once or did you start with a small amount and build up to the required dose for your system?


__________________
tan Arte realmente vida de imatate de doese

Current Tank Info: 48x18x21, 30g refugiuam/sump, (2) 250 w MH and 4 65w DC, Aqua Euro USA skimmer, 2 MP 40, quite one return pump 750 gpm,
soulsigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 11:05 PM   #10
ghstrider
Registered Member
 
ghstrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2,407
Im trying it as well. started about a week ago and P04 was at 0.11 today down from 0.2 last week (been feeding heavy). Will give a report after a few weeks.


ghstrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/27/2010, 12:26 AM   #11
thenewone
Registered Member
 
thenewone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: houston tx
Posts: 105
seem that everyone is coming out with this things but with no real research or experience with them well at least in the long run some of them contradict them self in alot of their adds just a little worried bc im like alot of ppl are using them lets just hope that we have done a good choice in using them.


__________________
whats another thing, please i promise it will be the last.... sike

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon
thenewone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/27/2010, 04:03 AM   #12
catman78
Registered Member
 
catman78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LI N.Y.
Posts: 764
How many GPH is required to keep the pellets in motion once they start producing mulm?

Like NP pellets or EcoBak?


catman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/27/2010, 08:10 AM   #13
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by soulsigma View Post
Did you add the entire package of pellets @ once or did you start with a small amount and build up to the required dose for your system?
I actually started all at once since I have very low P04 and Nitrate. If these were higher and I wasnt switching from a bacterial system already I would have dont about half.


__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/27/2010, 08:11 AM   #14
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by catman78 View Post
How many GPH is required to keep the pellets in motion once they start producing mulm?

Like NP pellets or EcoBak?
I cant answer the first part of your question since I have only been running them 1 day but I can say from the pictures I have seen of EcoBak thats what they look like.


__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/27/2010, 10:26 AM   #15
reef_doug
Premium Member
 
reef_doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hesperia/Apple Valley
Posts: 3,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by catman78 View Post
How many GPH is required to keep the pellets in motion once they start producing mulm?

Like NP pellets or EcoBak?

For GPH it really depends on the reactor diameter, inlet and outlet size. Apparently 5/8" inlet and 5/8" outlet works best. I'm trying to modify a ZEOvit reactor that's 8" diameter with 5/8" inlet and 1-1/4" outlet. 300-600 GPH is not uncommon though.


__________________
"If you have more than one tank in your livingroom, you might be a reefneck"

Current Tank Info: 180r SoCal Creations, 75g SCC1M Sump, WM EcoBAK, NextReef SMR1, TropicMarin Salt, ACIII, 3x250w HQI Phoenix 14k, 2x140w Super Actinics, ATi BM250, Eheim 1262, Tunze 2x6100+7095, Tunze Osmolator, 6 stage RODI w/ Spectrapure MaxCap
reef_doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/28/2010, 06:24 PM   #16
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
Ok today (day 3) I have noticed my water is a little cloudy and my protien skimmer was over flowing. I guess it's starting to work.


__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/29/2010, 05:31 AM   #17
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
Woke up this morning and the tank is cloudy. I will post pictures tonight.


__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/29/2010, 08:49 AM   #18
tegee
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 971
This is where I found them for sale with a nice reactor as well: http://www.manhattanreefs.com/forum/...iopellets.html . The jury is still out for me in regard to running these on my sps tank. As others have stated, very little research and little time on the market concerns me a bit. To that end, I am very curious to try and may begin soon.


__________________
180-gl. SPS Miracles Tank 60" x 24" x 29". Lighting is Old School...(3) 250w MH Radiums using M80 ballasts w/ VHO Actinics (2) EcoTech MP60's, 75-gl. Sump, Kalk Reactor, MRC CalRx, Hurricone Skimmer
tegee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/29/2010, 03:10 PM   #19
Hoyden
Registered Member
 
Hoyden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 69
I have some on order and look forward to trying it. I will be using an Avast Marine MR-5 reactor which seemed like a lower cost alternative to the Vertex.


__________________
“You feel a kind of oneness and lack of desire to be anywhere else, and a yearning that the state you're in can be perpetual." David Milch

Current Tank Info: Home:210 g FOWLR, 40 gallon FOWLR, 75 gallon reef tank system, 45 g frag tank/mantis tank system, 29g freshwater tank Work: 335,000 gallon TWA Fish Only, 270,000 gallons Indo-Pacific Mixed Taxa system, 10,000 gallon Q-pool
Hoyden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/29/2010, 05:38 PM   #20
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
Ok here is what my tank looks like tonight.



My PH and Redox seem to be holding so I hope this just clears up on its own soon.


__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/29/2010, 08:48 PM   #21
mal1099
Registered Member
 
mal1099's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 245
I added half the recommended dosage when i started and got a bacteril bloom. After a week i did add the rest tho and im running 1000ml atmand no issues with a bac bloom. It took 3 days for mine to clear up bwaaron


mal1099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/29/2010, 10:25 PM   #22
Wd40
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 738
bwarron ur tank is a lil worse than mine, however its been 3 days for me already and nothing! my skimmer is skimming awesome though, i mean i have to empty the cup like twice a day.. as far as flow i was running a maxi 1200 in a dual brs reactor with 500ml and i noticed they stopped tubling so i went to a rio 2100 that got them tumbling and now my water is even cloudier!


Wd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/30/2010, 05:15 AM   #23
bmwaaron
Registered Member
 
bmwaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,027
Well there is comfort in knowing that these seems to be a normal situation. My tank this morning is still very cloudy. Everything is still alive and my PH and Redox are holding strong.

My Redox and PH seem to have bottomed out according to my graph so maybe the water will start to clear today.


__________________
Aaron

Current Tank Info: Reefer 350 (73 gallon)
bmwaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/30/2010, 05:25 AM   #24
Bennytheblenny
Reef Geek
 
Bennytheblenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Closter NJ
Posts: 363
I just placed an order for 6 liters of this product for my tank from Premium Aquatics, since the other media is sold out currently from Marine Depot. I have a quick question though, how much flow do you put through the reactor? Is the media moving similarly to GFO? Is this product essentially the same material as the one from the Netherlands in the other thread? Ill post my results when I get this thing up and running.


__________________
1500 gallons of craziness.

Current Tank Info: 900 Gallon Reef Tank
Bennytheblenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/30/2010, 05:28 AM   #25
borcu
bordox
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 317
is there any reasonable explanation for bacteria blooms? looks mostly problem.


__________________
240 g Custom rimless starphire since 2001.
borcu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Potassium concern when using Bio Pellets? reef_doug The Reef Chemistry Forum 4 06/26/2010 02:56 PM
Vertex Pro Bio Pellets AquaCave Aqua Cave 0 06/25/2010 09:20 PM
Introducing Vertex Pro-Bio Pellets! Jeremy B. Premium Aquatics 5 06/18/2010 02:48 PM
Another Bio Product! SWC Bio Pellet Psionicdragon The Reef Chemistry Forum 0 05/26/2010 03:25 AM
NP Bio Pellets wld1783 Chicagoland Marine Aquarium Society (CMAS) 3 12/08/2009 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.