Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/26/2010, 08:18 PM   #1
turbosek
Registered Member
 
turbosek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bellingham, Wa
Posts: 50
Virtual Outlet

I am sure this question has been asked before, but I cannot find anything about it.

How do you add a Virtual Outlet?

I just hooked up my Waterbug to the Apex Base. The switch works, base alarm chimes when in water; however, how do I make my return pump turn off when the Waterbug switch is submerged?

Also, I want the pump to stay off indefinitely when the sensor wet...even if the water dries up.

Anyone?


turbosek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/26/2010, 11:57 PM   #2
unbreakable
D:
 
unbreakable's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ?
Posts: 3,019
i believe its by adding a DC8. In the webserver: configuation > module setup > add module (DC8) You can then rename the outlets created. you dont have to actually have the DC8 physically present

BTW, let me know how you setup your waterbug to your apex system!


__________________
INTERNET= Serious Business!
unbreakable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/27/2010, 03:08 AM   #3
HndMafia
Moved On
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 324
Use a control address the Apex wouldn't normally use, I have my virtual outlet start at N1.

Poor code practice, but you could always write your waterbug outlet without a reset...I know, I forgot the reset when programming my wavebox. Take a look at Ken Argo's site for code ideas as it has some great free to use code.


HndMafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/27/2010, 06:12 AM   #4
aquamanic
WHO DAT??
 
aquamanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,658
Unbreakable is right. You add a legacy module like a DC8 or AquaSurf. Different modules give you different numbers of outlets. There's a chapter on this with much more detail in the User Guide stickied at the top of the forum.


__________________
I don't work for Neptune. Please put all questions into forum posts and not PM's.
Visit the Neptune Community Forums for the latest Neptune updates - forum.neptunesystems.com
aquamanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/28/2010, 12:46 AM   #5
turbosek
Registered Member
 
turbosek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bellingham, Wa
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by unbreakable View Post
BTW, let me know how you setup your waterbug to your apex system!
I spent a good amount of time reviewing the Unofficial User Manual at the top of this group.

Physical Setup:
1) You need a WaterBug Sensor, WaterBug Relay Module, Power Adapter, and either a Neptune Systems Breakout Box or make your own 2-wire connector to go from the WaterBug Relay Module to the Apex Base (or PM1, PM2 or PM3).

2) Instead of dropping $50 on a Neptune Systems Breakout Box, I just used 2 wires and ran them into the #1 (from "c" on WaterBug) and #8 (from "NO" on WaterBug) on the I/O input on the Apex Base. You can buy male Minidin 8 connectors to do this.

Software Setup:
1) Create a Virtual Outlet by adding a Module in the Web Interface. Pick any one of the modules...I just added an EB8, which gave me 8 virtual outlets.

2) Change the name of one of the VO (virtual outlets) to "WaterBug"

3) Apply the following statements
If Switch1 OPEN Then OFF
If Switch1 CLOSED Then ON

4) Go to the pump outlet you want to turn off when water is detected.

5) Apply the following statements
Fallback ON
If Outlet WaterBug = ON Then OFF
If FeedD 000 Then ON

The 3rd line allows one to easily turn the pump back on after the WaterBug turns the pump off. You just go into the web interface "All Status" and run the Feed D. Then turn it off right away. This will restart the pump.

I wanted the return pump to stay off if water was on the floor or spilling over the display tank top (I have a WaterBug sensor on the top of my Display Tank.) I wanted the return pump to stop if there is a large leak in the sump (water on the floor) so that if the sump empties, the pump will not run dry. Secondly, I wanted the return pump to stop if the Overflow Drain Pipe clogs, thus causing the Display Tank to overflow and sump to drain.


turbosek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apex, virtual outlet, waterbug

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with virtual outlets needed dmack Neptune Systems 2 06/19/2010 05:17 PM
Max Time for Virtual Outlet? drummereef Neptune Systems 7 06/13/2010 05:59 PM
Virtual Outlet Code Issue? drummereef Neptune Systems 2 06/12/2010 02:00 PM
Creating Virtual outlets and Alarms unbreakable Neptune Systems 4 02/13/2010 04:14 PM
Virtual outlets mids1999 Neptune Systems 2 12/12/2009 05:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:45 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014