Reef Central Online Community
Neptune Systems

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 07/03/2011, 03:51 PM   #1
Jfannin
Registered Member
 
Jfannin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 434
DC8 vs. EB8

What the big differance between the two?

I know the DC8 is all mechanical switches and the EB8 is 6 electronic and 2 are mechanical. But what differance does that really make?

I also notice that only 5 DC 8 can be daisy chained together unlike the EB that can do a crap load more.


Jfannin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/03/2011, 04:37 PM   #2
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,710
A DC8 is not all relays... it's the same as the EB8: 1-3 & 5-7 are TRIAC-controlled (electronic switches), 4 & 8 are relay-switched (mechanical switches). The DC4HD has all relays (as does the EB4) Some really old DC8s have TRIACs on all 8 outlets though.

One major difference is that the DC8 cannot measure current draw like the EB8. Another is that you can put a EB8 much further away from the controller than you can a DC8.

EB8 TRIAC outlets are rated for 5A, the relay outlets are 10A. On the DC8, all 8 outlets are rated for 6A.


RussM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/03/2011, 05:04 PM   #3
Jfannin
Registered Member
 
Jfannin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 434
So what do you think? I have the one EB 8 that came with my system an I need to control:

Return pump
Skimmer
GFO Pump
Dosing pump for Alk
Dosing pump for Ca

Blue t5's
White T5's
Moon lights
Refugi light

Fans for lighting
Fans for sump area

Just noticed that you suggested also putting my vortechs (mp40wes and mp10) on the apex as well.

I also have my ATO unit and powerhead that I guess I could connect as well just because.

Figure the EB 8 is $135 and I can get the DC 8 for $99
You would you use?


Jfannin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/03/2011, 07:17 PM   #4
aquamanic
WHO DAT??
 
aquamanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,654
EB8. Don't mess around with the DC8 - it's fine if you already had one but why cripple the Apex with the DC8? It's one-way communications vs. the EB8 that can talk back to the controller, report amp usage, has a fallback mode, etc. You're probably into this for over $500 already - what's another $40?


__________________
I don't work for Neptune. Please put all questions into forum posts and not PM's.
Visit the Neptune Community Forums for the latest Neptune updates - forum.neptunesystems.com
aquamanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/03/2011, 11:49 PM   #5
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquamanic View Post
you're probably into this for over $500 already - what's another $40?
+1


RussM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/04/2011, 01:47 AM   #6
pyton
Registered Member
 
pyton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 371
I upgraded all my DC8's to the EB8's so I could see my Amps.
In the long run I am glad I spent the extra $40.00 to do so.


pyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/04/2011, 05:11 PM   #7
Jfannin
Registered Member
 
Jfannin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 434
Yah good point. I am already in it for alot so why skimp know.

Guess Ill order he EB 8 soon as I get home.


Thx for the advice.


Jfannin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/04/2011, 05:35 PM   #8
Jfannin
Registered Member
 
Jfannin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 434
Well need to round out my order to get free shipping.

What's the best addon for the apex? The one you love the most?

Pm1 pm2 pm3 or something as simple as just a ORP probe?

Thanks

Btw Im using dosing pumps so no Ca reactor or anything like that.


Jfannin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/04/2011, 05:45 PM   #9
aquamanic
WHO DAT??
 
aquamanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,654
Depends on how much you need to spend - here's what I would do in order:

Orp probe
Breakout box
WXM module if you have Vortech pumps - just the Tunze cables if you have Tunze

Non-Neptune products:
Battery backup
Wireless game adapter
GFO and or carbon reactors

Just some ideas.


__________________
I don't work for Neptune. Please put all questions into forum posts and not PM's.
Visit the Neptune Community Forums for the latest Neptune updates - forum.neptunesystems.com
aquamanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/04/2011, 06:29 PM   #10
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,710
A decent supply of pH calibration solutions is always a good way to pad an order.


RussM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
APEX with DC8 or EB8 crsandoval Neptune Systems 6 11/12/2010 07:53 AM
AC III DC8 or EB8 hionreef Neptune Systems 1 08/21/2010 03:04 PM
LF: DC8 or EB8 for Aquacontroller / Apex tangstank Chicagoland Marine Aquarium Society (CMAS) 0 12/28/2009 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014