Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 12/27/2011, 10:18 PM   #1
cyberwild360
Registered Member

Question I'm obviously doing something wrong (Warning.. Book)

Let me start off by saying that I have been nothing but FOWLR for the whole three years I have had a tank. I am starting to dabble in reefs so I set up a 60 gal tank in February of this year. I used some rock and sand from my already set up tank so the cycle went fairly quick. I added one of my clowns from the old tank so it wasn't just an empty tank.

I set it up with a 15 gal sump, a Coralife Super Skimmer, ATO, and I added a new Apex controller.

In April when I added the fish everything was great. My readings were great. A couple months went by and still everything was good. I got a pH meter with the Apex and it was reading 7.9-8.2. Calcium was about 450 ppm and Alk was 7.7 kH. Salt stays steady at 1.025, Nitrate and Nitrite's undetectable.

During this time I did a 20% water change a month. I know not the best but it was working from April till about November. 7 months everything was pretty good. And then it went down hill about four weeks ago.

I hadn't been testing it like I should have just occasionally checking salt and I could see temp and pH on my monitor and temp was good but little by little I noticed pH dropping off. I was gone for a week and a half and I come back and my pH is at 5.8!!!!! (I re calibrated my probe and it's reading correctly) The rest of the readings go something like this: Temp is steady, salt is still at 1.025, 0 Nitrates/Nitrites, Calcium is almost undetectable 200 ppm and Alkalinity is so high it doesn't show up on the test kit, Salifert.