Reef Central Online Community
Blue Zoo Aquatics

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 06/18/2012, 11:24 AM   #1
djbetterly
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 284
Eheim Autofeeder with Apex almost Complete

Not sure who is interested, but I'm almost finished with my Eheim mod that will allow the Apex to trigger the feeder. Not sure if this is the place to post the mod or if I should post it in DIY.


djbetterly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2012, 12:20 PM   #2
aquamanic
WHO DAT??
 
aquamanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,709
post it here. What did you do?


__________________
I don't work for Neptune. Please put all questions into forum posts and not PM's.
Visit the Neptune Community Forums for the latest Neptune updates - forum.neptunesystems.com
aquamanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2012, 12:46 PM   #3
djbetterly
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 284
I have made my eheim so it powered by a wall adaptor and can still use batteries if need be. In addition I wired in a relay that plugs into the E8 energy bar so the feeder can be programmed. Works really well!! The trial works perfectly, I just need to refine the wires and plugs and then I'll post pics and guide. If you know to solder and read a basic circuit schematic it's very easy.


djbetterly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2012, 12:46 PM   #4
jrpark22000
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 572
tagging along for a write up or photos


jrpark22000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2012, 12:52 PM   #5
enygma
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 35
Very much looking forward to learning more. I use a Hydor auto feeder, but I would happily switch if that one couldn't be made controllable.


__________________
Shelley
enygma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2012, 01:13 PM   #6
aquamanic
WHO DAT??
 
aquamanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,709
Quote:
I wired in a relay that plugs into the E8 energy bar so the feeder can be programmed.
Interested to see how you did this. I get the part about using the wall wart instead of the AA batteries but I'm curious how you trigger the drum to rotate.


__________________
I don't work for Neptune. Please put all questions into forum posts and not PM's.
Visit the Neptune Community Forums for the latest Neptune updates - forum.neptunesystems.com
aquamanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2012, 02:22 PM   #7
scherzo
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 49
I've thought of this as well. I was going to try and use a 110V Relay hooked up to the switch on the feeder. Pretty simple.

Just make sure that there are no feed times set on the feeder's internal clock.

Is this how you are doing it?


scherzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2012, 07:22 PM   #8
mal7887
Registered Member
 
mal7887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tampa
Posts: 643
Tagging along... I'm interested in this also


__________________
Matt

Don't pee on my leg and tell me it's raining.

Current Tank Info: 190
mal7887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/19/2012, 07:18 AM   #9
john1979
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fairport, NY
Posts: 63
I'm interested in this as well. Please post your mod here!


john1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/19/2012, 07:03 PM   #10
djbetterly
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 284
Having a busy week, should be able to finish the mod by tomorrow evening.


djbetterly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/19/2012, 10:44 PM   #11
titmouse
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29
Really slick idea. Following!


__________________
300g Mixed Reef, LEDs, 4x Tunze Streams, Tunze DOC, Vertex Bio-pellets, GEO CR and a Neptune Apex to make everything work
titmouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/20/2012, 06:51 AM   #12
superray2002
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
I did something like that using a camera that I had with a relay contact built into the camera (IQEye Camera). I just soldered a wire to the feed push button contacts on the Ehiem feeder and to the relay then you could feed the fish with the pre-built web page icon. It was neat because you can set the amount of times you could press the button in a certain time, etc (for public feeding! lol) but I didn't like the wire running over to the camera in the area I had the camera. I alway like though when someone says the Apex is 'just and expensive light timer' and then you start telling them all the neat stuff you can do when you start thinking out of the box. On my new cabinet I am going to pre build in door contacts so that the APEX will turn on the interior cabinet light when the doors open. Love this controller!


superray2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 10:26 AM   #13
djbetterly
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 284
Here is the new mod. I have found ways to make this cosmetically better, but because my feeder was already getting chopped up a bit, my version may look a bit sloppy.

Feel free to post any comments, questions or recommendations.

Due to this forum having a VERY small size limit on PDF file I have posted it through my amazon S3 account. Here is the link.

https://s3.amazonaws.com/File_Share2...Feeder+Mod.pdf


djbetterly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 11:33 AM   #14
enygma
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 35
I'm impressed! It is a much more involved process than I realized.


__________________
Shelley
enygma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 12:28 PM   #15
Ripperj
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 121
So big flick- you powered the feeder from 110v vice battery and have a relay operated by the Apex that replaces the push button?


Ripperj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 12:43 PM   #16
aquamanic
WHO DAT??
 
aquamanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,709
Yea, I'm a bit confused on the 12v relay as well. There's a 12v transformer someplace that plugs into 110v on the EBx. It converts 110vac to 12vdc to the relay. From the relay, two wires go to the feed switch. But why the relay, why not have the 12vdc go straight to the feed switch?


__________________
I don't work for Neptune. Please put all questions into forum posts and not PM's.
Visit the Neptune Community Forums for the latest Neptune updates - forum.neptunesystems.com
aquamanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 04:59 PM   #17
djbetterly
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 284
First off ripperj, no one has asked you to chime in if you don't think its worthy. Why the need for negative comments? I don't see anyone else attempting this.

aquamanic, I'm a bit confused by your statement. Can you elaborate please? If your asking why I added a relay, its because you don't need any current going to the feed button, you just need to make the connection to trigger the feeder.


djbetterly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 05:05 PM   #18
aquamanic
WHO DAT??
 
aquamanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,709
So, does the feed button take 12vdc? That's the part I'm not understanding. What comes out the other side of the relay? 12vdc on the one side from the transformer but what's on the other side?


Alan


__________________
I don't work for Neptune. Please put all questions into forum posts and not PM's.
Visit the Neptune Community Forums for the latest Neptune updates - forum.neptunesystems.com
aquamanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 05:13 PM   #19
djbetterly
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 284
no, no power goes to the feed button, it simply completes the circuit for the feed button. If you take a small piece of wire, strip both ends (basically making a jumper wire) and touch one end to each side of the feed button it will trigger the feeder, provided of course the feeder has power. I attached a photo of where to touch the wires.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2012-06-21 at 7.12.05 PM.jpg (22.6 KB, 327 views)
djbetterly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 05:52 PM   #20
john1979
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fairport, NY
Posts: 63
This is awesome! Thanks djbetterly!

So, you don't really even need to have a plug for the power. Couldn't you still power the feeder on batteries and just have the plug/relay setup for the trigger? It's nice not to have to worry about batteries, but that part isn't really necessary. Am I correct in my thinking?


john1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 05:54 PM   #21
djbetterly
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 284
You correct. You could trigger with apex and run the unit on batteries.


djbetterly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 06:07 PM   #22
Ripperj
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 121
Don't have to get rude, I was not trying to be sarcastic, I was trying to figure the big picture as I don't have the eheim, and was unsure as what actually was getting automated. I will take my ball and go


Ripperj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 06:22 PM   #23
djbetterly
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 284
Apologies Ripperj. I worked pretty hard on the project as simple as it seems.


djbetterly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 06:28 PM   #24
Ripperj
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 121
Accepted , I should have worded it better-so I guess my question concerns the button, I assume that the feeder would dispense food on a certain time period and when you push a manual button?? The apex closes the button circuit?


Ripperj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2012, 06:41 PM   #25
Preston7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Nice work!


Preston7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.