Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/28/2012, 12:47 PM   #1
ltlevil
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 60
Changed from Linksys Router

I just changed from a Linksys to a Belkin router (Running Windows). The problem is the first three octets of Linksys are 192.168.1 the Belkin octets are 192.168.2. I have full Apex (setup wirelessly) but do not have the display module in order to acess the router to change the IP address. I didnt think about this before changing the router so I figured I would access it through my laptop through a LAN (As described in the Apex manual). I have done this before with my Apex Jr to reset it to factory settings when I sold it so am familiar with the process. Prior to changing routers I was able to access the Apex either through an App or web connection. I can see the wireless adapter and its new address but cannot get to the Apex to update it. I tried unplugging and plugging back in the Apex but I didnt expect it to work and it didn't due to the static IP setting on the Apex. As far as I can tell my options are:
1. Buy a display module that I don't really want or need for anything else and update the IP address.
2. Buy yet another Linksys router and go through all of that crap again.

Id prefer to just be able to update the IP address on the Apex and not have to setup all my outlets again but at this point J cant even reflash the firmware back to factory settings. I know I'm aggravated and may not just may not be thinking of something so if anyone has a suggestion I would appreciate it.


ltlevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/28/2012, 02:27 PM   #2
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
Go into the Belkin, and change the LAN settings so it uses 192.168.1.x instead of 192.168.2.x.

Reboot all devices currently connecting to the Belkin after you've done this.


RussM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12/28/2012, 02:40 PM   #3
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
Another option:

  • Download the latest firmware from Neptune (http://www.neptunesystems.com/support/sw-updates/)
  • Unzip the downloaded file
  • Run the Apex Flash utility
  • Click on the magnifying glass icon
  • Even though the current IP address of the Apex is currently invalid for your new network, ithe Apex should still be discovered by the utility.
  • Select your Apex.
  • Click Configure.
  • Change the IP address to 192.168.2.50
  • Leave the subnet mask at 255.255.255.0
  • Change the default gateway to 192.168.2.1
  • Click Update.
  • Try to access the Apex at http://192.168.2.50



RussM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12/28/2012, 03:58 PM   #4
ltlevil
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 60
Thanks Russ. I never thought about changing the router. I was concerned with doing the firmware thing due to the issue of not being able go get into the Apex and back everything up. Thanks again I'll try this in a few minutes and let you know.


ltlevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.