Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/08/2013, 04:05 PM   #1
XStroX
Registered Member

75 Gallon Hexagon Tank/Stand/Canopy - Build Thread

First I want to thank everyone because over the last few weeks it is incredible how much I have learned just from reading these forums. What an awesome group of people! An extra thank you to those that responded in my first thread looking for initial input as well.

I am brand new to saltwater and I will continue to update this thread as I go. I am also brand new to wood working so building a stand and canopy will certainly be a challenge. I do have help around me if I need it though.

I have attached 2 pictures, showing everything I have figured out so far. Please comment/critique/question. I'm sure there are things I'm not thinking of. The acrylic tank is on the way and should be here in 1-2 weeks max. At that point I will be starting the stand.

One disclaimer up front. I will not be changing the tall/skinny design even though I know it is not ideal and makes things more difficult. The nice thing about this is that it doesn't take up much floor space and will be easy to look at while standing. I also need to keep all wires and plumbing hidden inside
Looking forward to your input!

Stro

Aquarium Build Plan 1.jpg

Aquarium Build Plan 2.jpg

XStroX is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/22/2013, 03:52 PM   #2
XStroX
Registered Member

YES!! The tank finally arrived meaning I can get started building the stand. See the attached pictures. I'm hoping someone can help with the below though.

Since this acrylic tank has a partially covered top (3/8" acrylic), I want to verify my order of installing the internal 29" tall overflow and plumbing as shown in the pictures on the previous post.