Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 06/21/2013, 05:47 PM   #1
degibson84
Registered Member
 
degibson84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Youngstown, OH
Posts: 2,393
DI cartridge options

I just setup my 220 and am battling diatoms pretty badly. I know it is normal in a tank that just cycled but i battled diatoms for a year in my 75. This leads me to believe that my RO/DI is not removing all the silica. As I am looking for a new DI cartridge instead of the BRS resin I see about 10 silica busters, is there one better than the other?


degibson84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2013, 12:58 AM   #2
Tremelle
Registered Member
 
Tremelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 929
I have been using the di resin from The Filter Guys for a few years with great results. I buy the resin and fill my own cartridge.


Tremelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2013, 03:29 AM   #3
shifty51008
12-5 Chiefs record
 
shifty51008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 10,134
BFS or spectapure would be a good choice.

BFS is also in cinn. OH so shipping is prob. cheap for you.

http://buckeyefieldsupply.com/showpr...ry=182&Sub=127


__________________
75 gal. mixed DT, 100 gal. sump, 50 gal. fuge,

Clownfish breeder
shifty51008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2013, 01:02 PM   #4
degibson84
Registered Member
 
degibson84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Youngstown, OH
Posts: 2,393
Never even heard of BFS before. Is the quality good?


degibson84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2013, 01:05 PM   #5
degibson84
Registered Member
 
degibson84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Youngstown, OH
Posts: 2,393
Shipping and handling charges as well as state tax comes out to $13 more?


degibson84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2013, 01:30 PM   #6
shifty51008
12-5 Chiefs record
 
shifty51008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 10,134
BFS is a great place to deal with. I would give Russ a call about the shipping part. great guy to deal with.

they are also a sponsor here so you could also ask in their forum.
http://reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=446


__________________
75 gal. mixed DT, 100 gal. sump, 50 gal. fuge,

Clownfish breeder
shifty51008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2013, 04:52 PM   #7
azjohnny
Registered Member
 
azjohnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Gold Canyon
Posts: 2,914
I have a Spectrapure Maxcap system which has 2 DI canisters. The first one is a Max Cap and the 2nd is a Super Silica Buster. The Maxcap does most of the work and causes the Silica Buster to last up to 4x as long. I have had great results with this setup


azjohnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2013, 05:02 PM   #8
degibson84
Registered Member
 
degibson84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Youngstown, OH
Posts: 2,393
my system is only 4 stage. sediment-carbon-RO-DI. I would have to figure out how to add another canister to the end to run the extra DI


degibson84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2013, 05:23 PM   #9
azjohnny
Registered Member
 
azjohnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Gold Canyon
Posts: 2,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by degibson84 View Post
my system is only 4 stage. sediment-carbon-RO-DI. I would have to figure out how to add another canister to the end to run the extra DI
This is what you need

http://spectrapure.com/AQUARIUM/DI-S...Cap-DI-Add-Ons


azjohnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2013, 05:50 PM   #10
degibson84
Registered Member
 
degibson84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Youngstown, OH
Posts: 2,393
Wouldn't I still need a silica buster after the maxcap


degibson84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2013, 05:59 PM   #11
azjohnny
Registered Member
 
azjohnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Gold Canyon
Posts: 2,914
You can re do the plumbing so after the membrane it goes to the Maxcap than the silica buster


azjohnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/07/2013, 04:54 AM   #12
degibson84
Registered Member
 
degibson84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Youngstown, OH
Posts: 2,393
would it be overkill to use a dual add on and use the MaxCap into silica buster then into mixed bed?


degibson84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:23 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.