Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Large Reef Tanks
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 07/16/2013, 11:23 AM   #1
Socaltoaz
Registered Member

Building a House with a Large Fish Tank- Need your Advice

Hello folks,

Im a newbie here and would like to introduce myself and perhaps solicit some information from the community about my upcoming home build and integration of a large tank in the house.

I used to keep salt water tanks back in the college days and really enjoyed the hobby. Time, constant moving from apartment to apartment and obviously budget really limited what I was able to do.

Now that Im a bit older, a bit wiser and have a few more dollars in the pocket, we are in the process of building a custom home in Scottsdale. In the house we have a Great Room concept where the kitchen, family room and the bar area are all one long room. The large space (about 60 feet long by 25 feet wide) is separated by changes in ceiling height between the family room and kitchen.

A large two way fireplace separates the family room and the bar. Well, as I was reviewing the construction plans I realized that instead of a fireplace separating the family room and bar, what a great location for a large fish tank. So after consulting with the architect and builder, this is exactly what we are doing to do.

I have the ability to pipe and plumb the space so that all the mechanicals and filtration are in a storage room about 25 feet away. We will put the piping in the slab and incorporate the tank into the build of the house. We expect to break ground on the house in about 45 days.

The concept is that we do a large tank that essentially serves as a dividing wall between the two rooms. Im thinking about 6-7 feet wide. 4-5 feet high. 2-3 feet deep.