Reef Central Online Community
Marine Depot

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 09/26/2017, 03:57 PM   #2526
Krazie4Acans
Registered Member
 
Krazie4Acans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 353
It means that the motor is drawing more current than it's rated limits. This usually means a bearing has gone bad or the head is frozen or stuck and it's taking more power to turn is than it should.


Krazie4Acans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/26/2017, 04:02 PM   #2527
scuzy
Registered Member
 
scuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,141
Is the bearings replaceable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


scuzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/26/2017, 04:05 PM   #2528
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuzy View Post
Is the bearings replaceable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
As with most armatures, bearings can be pressed on and off. You would need to take the pump apart to verify the bearings conditions but there are some things you can do in advance of that. If it's a 300 RPM or 600 RPM pump, first thing I would do is take the gearbox apart, inspect it to make sure the gears are in good shape and well lubricated. Once you have the gear box off, Manually try turning the motor shaft. It should spin fairly freely. If it doesn't, take the motor itself apart and inspect it. Bearings should rotate freely and not be "gritty" feeling when spun..


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/26/2017, 04:07 PM   #2529
tkeracer619
Registered Member

 
tkeracer619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 16,531
Here is a step by step bearing replacement for a brushless unit. I suspect a brushed unit would be similar. Been meaning to do it just haven't gotten to it yet.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh....php?t=2611468


__________________
Hobby Experience: 9200ish gallons, 26 skimmers, and a handful of Kent Scrapers.
Current Tank:
Vortech Powered 600G SPS Tank w/ 100gal frag tank & 100g Sump. RK2-RK10 Skimmer. ReefAngel. Radium 20k.
tkeracer619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/26/2017, 04:16 PM   #2530
scuzy
Registered Member
 
scuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,141
I took this apart last night it spun ok. The gear box looks fine. I guess I can disassemble the motor and check.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


scuzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/29/2017, 09:02 AM   #2531
Jonnywhoop
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 47
I can't keep my low pressure gauge on my aquarium plants regulator to hold.

Albeit, I am using the regulator on the lowest of settings: around 1.2psi for a 10g tank. However it drifts up and down...

What can I do to make sure my low pressure consistently stays the same?

10g tank, 7.5 sump
Mrc dual chamber reactor
7523-80 at 45ml
Aquarium plants doser




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Jonnywhoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/29/2017, 03:26 PM   #2532
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,636
That's a pretty low setting and with ambient temperature changes, the PSI within the Co2 tank will go up and down which impacts the output setting slightly. I suspect that is the what you are seeing and I am not sure if there is any way around that short of increasing the pressure a bit and decreasing the Bubble rate.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/29/2017, 06:24 PM   #2533
Vinny Kreyling
Registered Member
 
Vinny Kreyling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miller Place, NY
Posts: 4,940
Tank size should not determine anything for a regulator.
I was able to run @ 3PSI with this regulator but had to step it up for demand.
1.2 PSI is very low.


__________________
250 gallon mixed reef, Vertex Illumina LED, RD 3 Speedy 80 Watt, DAS EX-3 Skimmer, MTC mini cal, 2-3/4" Sea Swirls, Aquacontroller & 4 Tunze pumps.
Vinny Kreyling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/30/2017, 03:43 AM   #2534
Jonnywhoop
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 47
Ahhhh damn. 1.2 is the sweet spot for me so far... maybe i just need to load the tank up and start raising the psi hah.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Jonnywhoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/30/2017, 10:43 AM   #2535
hkgar
Registered Member
 
hkgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dewitt MI
Posts: 3,874
What is the bubble rate?


__________________
Gary


180 gallon, 30 gallon sump, 3 250W Radiums,4 ATI T5's, MTC MVX 36 Skimmer, Apex controller Reef Octopus CaRx

Current Tank Info: Yellow/Purple, Red Head, Hoevans, Possum Wrasses, 2 Barred Rabbit, Cherub & Spotbreast Angle, Kole, Purple & Atlantic Blue Tangs, Matted Filefish, 2 Percula Clown, 4 PJ Cardinals
hkgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/07/2017, 10:23 AM   #2536
alemone
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 132
Has anybody had luck with Avast MArine peristaltic pump? It's rated for continuous use.


alemone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10/07/2017, 02:22 PM   #2537
LQT
Registered Member
 
LQT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by alemone View Post
Has anybody had luck with Avast MArine peristaltic pump? It's rated for continuous use.

Is it a variable speed pump as well? The variable speed feature is just as important as the continuous duty feature as it allows for the precise dialing in of your CaRx effluent.


__________________
- Leon

Working on an upgrade: Deep Blue 57 Edge Acro Garden
LQT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10/07/2017, 02:27 PM   #2538
alemone
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by LQT View Post
Is it a variable speed pump as well? The variable speed feature is just as important as the continuous duty feature as it allows for the precise dialing in of your CaRx effluent.
No, it's not. They were going to introduce a variable speed pump but later decided not to.


alemone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10/07/2017, 11:55 PM   #2539
tkeracer619
Registered Member

 
tkeracer619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 16,531
It's not that easy to get a reliable continuous duty variable speed pump. Especially on a budget and quiet.


__________________
Hobby Experience: 9200ish gallons, 26 skimmers, and a handful of Kent Scrapers.
Current Tank:
Vortech Powered 600G SPS Tank w/ 100gal frag tank & 100g Sump. RK2-RK10 Skimmer. ReefAngel. Radium 20k.
tkeracer619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/21/2017, 09:24 PM   #2540
fixmgood
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 810
Do any of you have a filter of some sort for supply water to the reactor. Some pics and part numbers would be good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
Ivan

Current Tank Info: 450g AGE,200 gallon sump, Red Dragon Speedy 230w return pump and closed loop,4 way Ocean Motion,PM Balistic Skimmer.3 Sea Swirl returns.AI Hydra 52HD,Apex contoller. Build thread "The after disaster 650g build"
fixmgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/21/2017, 10:11 PM   #2541
ca1ore
Grizzled & Cynical

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 16,559
No filter. My reactor doesn't collect all that much detritus; any that does accumulate gets shop vacced out when the media gets replenished. My masterflex pulls.


__________________
Simon

Got back into the hobby ..... planned to keep it simple ..... yeah, right ..... clearly I need a new plan! Pet peeve: anemones host clowns; clowns do not host anemones!

Current Tank Info: 450 Reef; 120 refugium; 60 Frag Tank, 30 Introduction tank; multiple QTs
ca1ore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/21/2017, 11:08 PM   #2542
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,636
No filters for me either in fact, I’ve never heard of anybody running a filter before their calcium reactor. I pull from the return section of my sump and there is no detritus in there at all. Even if here was, I don’t think it would be an issue.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/21/2017, 11:13 PM   #2543
fixmgood
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 810
A while back I heard someone at one of our club meetings saying that he had a filter or maybe a screen of some sort, just thought I would ask.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
Ivan

Current Tank Info: 450g AGE,200 gallon sump, Red Dragon Speedy 230w return pump and closed loop,4 way Ocean Motion,PM Balistic Skimmer.3 Sea Swirl returns.AI Hydra 52HD,Apex contoller. Build thread "The after disaster 650g build"
fixmgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/22/2017, 12:42 AM   #2544
awais98
SPS
 
awais98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 867
I have multiple of these but one of the 7550-50 1.6-100RPM Brushless, on priming shows error 3...
upon checking it means it is drawing more power than it should, on max start up, happens sometimes not always.
Called company, too expensive to fix.
Any lead what I can do?
Thanks


__________________
Awais

Current Tank Info: 240DT SPS DOMINANT
awais98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/22/2017, 12:52 AM   #2545
scuzy
Registered Member
 
scuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,141
I had the same issue on my 7523-80 company said it's logic board won't just sell me the board cost way to much to fix. I know motor works as I can swap it with my working one. Guess I'll use it for parts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


scuzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/22/2017, 12:57 AM   #2546
awais98
SPS
 
awais98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuzy View Post
I had the same issue on my 7523-80 company said it's logic board won't just sell me the board cost way to much to fix. I know motor works as I can swap it with my working one. Guess I'll use it for parts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


Mine works perfectly fine otherwise
Very reliable except occasionally on priming (which we never really have to do) shows the error. I press any button and it resets and starts working normally



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
Awais

Current Tank Info: 240DT SPS DOMINANT
awais98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/22/2017, 09:57 PM   #2547
Ssteve
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,996
Pretty sure Adam at battle corals is running a filter on his. Might want to check out his build thread on the other forum. For me I just rinse all my media in rodi whenever I top it off. So maybe once every 6-9 months.


Ssteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/03/2017, 06:59 PM   #2548
Bpb
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,755
Well...Finally remedied a big fauxpaux I made with my masterflex. When I got mine I opted for the quick setup and use rather than the correct one. Ive had mine for about a year now. Served me really well for the first couple months. As some of you saw a few pages back, I inquired about LS15 tubing. Well apparently I had been using the wrong kind. Clear Tygon LS15 tubing. Rated for very short life. I was getting a month or two out of each tubing run before holes would form.

Eventually I also began getting massive leaking from where the roller head tubing would join the effluent tubing. Rather than ordering the correct parts from usplastics.com, I used cheap 1/8" airline tubing connectors with zip ties. Yeah they held the tubes together...But didnt form a tight seal. Eventually I came home to a soaked equipment cabinet and puddle under it that had slowly formed.

Having multiple setbacks in a row really kicked me into gear. I actually contemplated selling my entire calcium reactor and getting a ghl doser and tropic marin balling salts. Glad I didn't. Finally placed my order with US Plastics today and got the correct adaptors outlined in the first page, and the correct Pharmed BPT tubing. Need to give the rollers on my easyload head a rinse in rodi water and get this reactor back up and running. Kalkwasser works fine and can keep up with my tanks demand (barely), but I feel like I'm missing all the other goodness a reactor supplies. Hopefully my tubing will last longer and be leak free this time around.

Watch my old brushed and beat up pump die all together next time I fire it up.


Bpb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2017, 11:33 PM   #2549
stephj03
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Juan Capistrano
Posts: 685
I️ have a question about noise on brushless pumps. Is there an expected noise difference between a 6-600 and a .1-600?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


stephj03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/30/2017, 08:26 AM   #2550
SkyReef
Registered Member
 
SkyReef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sparks, NV
Posts: 496
What U.S. Plastics Pharmed Tubing Matches Masterflex LS 17 Tubing?

I purchased a Masterflex Easy-Load II pump head, Model No. 77201-60. It uses L/S tubing 13, 14, 16, 25, 17, and 18. I gather from the many posts in this thread that most folks use L/S 17 tubing. I see also that the longer-life and cheaper alternative to purchasing tubing from Masterflex is to buy Pharmed tubing from U.S. Plastics.

Sounds great. What actual Pharmed tubing product do I buy for the L/S 17 from U.S. Plastics? From a previous post, it was suggested that I order Pharmed 57320, having an interior diameter of 1/4" and an outer diameter of 1/2", with a wall thickness of 1/8". However, it is not clear to me that this is the correct U.S. Plastics tubing that works with an L/S 17-compatible pump head.

Could someone please confirm what specific product I should be ordering for a long-life, Pharmed tubing from U.S. Plastics, to fit my Masterflex Easy-Load II pump head that accommodates LS 17 tubing? Thank you.


__________________
The aquarium is expanding, to meet the needs of the expanding aquarium.

Current Tank Info: Aquarium: 75-Gal. Reef Aquarium
SkyReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014