Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Coral Forums > Non-Photosynthetic Corals
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/29/2016, 08:35 PM   #1
mtk
Registered Member

Little confused.

Hey everyone,
I am new to the world of nps corals and I am just starting to learn about them so I can start a low light nano up with them. I went to a local store tonight and asked if they ever got any types of nps corals in. He pointed to two blueberry gorgs. I said I was not ready for a filter feeder like that and was more looking for dendros or different sun corals. The next thing I know the owner of the store seems to get realy mad and say they are illegal and anyone that has them has acquired them illegally and they don't support that. He says he is a direct importer and could lose his liscence if he was to attempt to bring them in. Then just stoped helping me. I'm confused So could someone please enlighten me on this topic.
Thanks

mtk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/30/2016, 07:41 AM   #2
Dkuhlmann
Registered Member

That guy's an idiot. Find a new LFS or order online

Current Tank Info: 40b 750 gph 45 lbs lr, 2"-3" sand, 165w full spectrum dimable LED, 20 gal sump/refugium 30 lbs lr, Bak Pak 2 skimmer, 4" sock temp 79-80, sg 1.026, NH3 0, NO2 0, NO3 <10, ph 8.2, calc 400, mag 1300
Dkuhlmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/30/2016, 11:28 AM   #3
noy
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dkuhlmann View Post
+1
If you want to be sure check the cites site

http://checklist.cites.org/#/en/sear...=1&per_page=20

Tubastreae is a schedule II - so export is OK as long as there is a quota and the exporter has a permit.

You can check this site for the export quotas

https://cites.org/sites/default/file...Quotas2015.pdf

Plenty for quota annually for Tubastraea

noy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/03/2016, 09:36 AM   #4
A.Astore
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dkuhlmann View Post