Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Coral Forums > Coral Propagation and Aquaculture
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 11/03/2016, 10:15 AM   #1
Tripod1404
Registered Member

Do you use cyanoacrylate to cover the fraging site

Hello Guys,

I am relatively new to fraging and I have a question about the process. After you frag and LPS coral, do you use cyanoacrylate to cover the open wound left on both the mother colony and the new frag?
I know the fraging site is mostly just the dead skeleton but close to the polyps there is some live tissue that you cut through while fraging. Should I make a cyanoacrylate patch around that tissue or would it heal in its own without getting infected.

Tripod1404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/03/2016, 12:40 PM   #2
jeromeit
Registered Member

great question, I was wondering this myself.

jeromeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/03/2016, 01:01 PM   #3
vhuang168
Registered Member

Good video to watch

https://youtu.be/3_4pn78ZFX0

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

40g custom AIO --> DSA190Pro
vhuang168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/04/2016, 11:17 AM   #4
JonezNReef
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by vhuang168 View Post
Good video to watch

https://youtu.be/3_4pn78ZFX0

After watching that now I want to got chop some stuff up

JonezNReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/14/2016, 12:06 PM   #5
organism
code monkey

No, never put superglue on corals unless you don't want to have those corals anymore. Superglue goes between the frag plug and whatever rock you're gluing on it.

Unread 11/14/2016, 01:02 PM   #6
vhuang168
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by organism View Post
No, never put superglue on corals unless you don't want to have those corals anymore. Superglue goes between the frag plug and whatever rock you're gluing on it.