Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 09/06/2017, 05:13 PM   #1
NicholasAllen
Moved On

Decent Lighting Suggestions

So I am in the process of cycling a 30 gallon a half Moon tank. I am just finishing up week one of the cycle, so I still have a little bit of time before I need my lights. The dimensions are 26 1/2 x 13 1/2 x 26 1/2. I was wondering if you guys could offer some suggestions on decent lighting for corals. Now I know a lot of you are probably wondering, what kind of corals are you wanting? And the truth is, I am not at all sure. This is my first time doing a saltwater tank, so I won't be looking for anything that requires a whole lot of care. I plan on adding a couple of fish, but I am going to mainly stick with corals only. Not looking for anything too crazy expensive, but I'm also not wanting to cheap out either. All suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

NicholasAllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/06/2017, 05:54 PM   #2
jda
Dogmatic Dinosaur

Check out some of the black box LEDs from China. You can keep most stuff under them and do well - they will not keep anything well even though people will tell you otherwise, but they are a really good start that are inexpensive and decent quality that you could replace in a few years if/when you want to go a different way.

There are many different kinds of brands with all kinds of fanboys. They all work roughly the same, but the features are different... timers, dimming, etc.

jda is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/06/2017, 06:37 PM   #3
NicholasAllen
Moved On

Quote:
Originally Posted by jda View Post