Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/30/2017, 02:47 PM   #1
muttley000
MTS Sufferer!
 
muttley000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 1,934
Salinity probe in a vertical 150 gallon mixing tank

Hoping someone has an idea I can steal! I want to put my apex salinity probe in my salt mixing tank near the bottom, so no matter the level it is submerged. Easy enough I thought, I can just use a strain relief through the tank like a ph probe in a calcium reactor. Then I got to thinking about having to calibrate it and what a PITA that would be if it were near the bottom and the tank was full. So, before I put a bulkhead in the top of my tank and put a PVC section down with a strain relief at the end to hold the probe (apex probe so I need to keep the wire end of it dry) which will not be easy to deal with because the ceiling in the basement is only about a foot above the top of the tank so I can't pull 4 feet of pipe strait out, I'm seeing what ideas the community may have.
Thanks in advance!
Matt


__________________
Next step on the system is adding A 90 gallon!

Current Tank Info: 475 multitank system is now running! Several hundred gallons of additions planned!
muttley000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/30/2017, 05:53 PM   #2
neilp2006
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 268
Salinity probe in a vertical 150 gallon mixing tank

Uniseal through side at bottom, with 3/4 pvc pipe (couple inches) and a valve to a 90 pointing up. Put a cap in the 90 with a small uniseal that the probe will fit in (might need to work on this bit). Kinda like the small T fittings your rodi tds sensor fits in.

Edit- thinking about it some more, you’ll probably bust the probe trying to get it in and out of the uniseal. Should have thought it through some more before I made a suggestion.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Last edited by neilp2006; 12/30/2017 at 06:00 PM.
neilp2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/31/2017, 07:43 AM   #3
muttley000
MTS Sufferer!
 
muttley000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 1,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilp2006 View Post
Uniseal through side at bottom, with 3/4 pvc pipe (couple inches) and a valve to a 90 pointing up. Put a cap in the 90 with a small uniseal that the probe will fit in (might need to work on this bit). Kinda like the small T fittings your rodi tds sensor fits in.

Edit- thinking about it some more, you’ll probably bust the probe trying to get it in and out of the uniseal. Should have thought it through some more before I made a suggestion.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Actually you may be on to something putting it into a T. I could plumb the T in and out the strain relief fitting on the third hole. I'll digest that and see if I can fit it where I won't break something. Thank you for the suggestion.


__________________
Next step on the system is adding A 90 gallon!

Current Tank Info: 475 multitank system is now running! Several hundred gallons of additions planned!
muttley000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/31/2017, 08:26 AM   #4
neilp2006
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 268
What is the ‘strain relief fitting’ you refer too? I might find it useful for my own system

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


neilp2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/31/2017, 08:51 AM   #5
Member No. 1
Ver. 2.1
 
Member No. 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rehoboth, MA
Posts: 1,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilp2006 View Post
What is the ‘strain relief fitting’ you refer too? I might find it useful for my own system

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Water tight probe holder. Most commonly used on the top of a calcium reactor to hold the probe to monitor the pH in the reactor.
https://www.bulkreefsupply.com/probe-holder.html
This type threads in, you can search for other styles that come with a nut, or have NPT threads ( tapered pipe threads).


__________________
Pete
"I never make mistakes...
I thought I did once, but I was wrong"

Current Tank Info: In the process - http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2661614
Member No. 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/31/2017, 09:59 AM   #6
neilp2006
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 268
PERFECT!!!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


neilp2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/01/2018, 09:55 AM   #7
ca1ore
Grizzled & Cynical

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 17,340
Can the probe be oriented horizontally? Not sure, but if so you could just stick it through the probe holder in the side. The other option would be to plumb an external circulating mixing pump and have the probe in the pump circuit.


__________________
Simon

Got back into the hobby ..... planned to keep it simple ..... yeah, right ..... clearly I need a new plan! Pet peeve: anemones host clowns; clowns do not host anemones!

Current Tank Info: 450 Reef; 120 refugium; 60 Frag Tank, 30 Introduction tank; multiple QTs
ca1ore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/01/2018, 12:07 PM   #8
muttley000
MTS Sufferer!
 
muttley000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 1,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca1ore View Post
Can the probe be oriented horizontally? Not sure, but if so you could just stick it through the probe holder in the side. The other option would be to plumb an external circulating mixing pump and have the probe in the pump circuit.
I do have an external mixing pump and am looking at adding a tee between the true Union ball valves that isolate the pump and inserting it there.


__________________
Next step on the system is adding A 90 gallon!

Current Tank Info: 475 multitank system is now running! Several hundred gallons of additions planned!
muttley000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2018, 03:56 PM   #9
BigDave
Registered Member
 
BigDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wylie, TX
Posts: 457
Mount the probe onto a piece of foam so that it floats on the top of the water column. When you need to calibrate, just pull it up out the top of the tank.


BigDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/06/2018, 09:10 AM   #10
FullBoreReefer
Registered Member
 
FullBoreReefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wooster, OH
Posts: 1,783
Don't strictly rely on the correct readings. Use the probe reading to get you close, but you still gotta check with your refractometer. Just my opinion.


__________________
60x36x24 mixed reef. 40b sump. 5gal ATS. 3x HydraHDs. Lifereef svs3-30". 4xMp40wes. Apex2016. Old Reef: 9.5yrs Current tank: 1mth. Total hobby:10.5yrs.
FullBoreReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/07/2018, 11:57 AM   #11
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 13,433
What are you going to do about the temp probe? If your going to monitor the salinity using a the Apex, you will need a temp probe in there for proper temp compensation if you want reasonable accuracy.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/21/2018, 12:57 PM   #12
muttley000
MTS Sufferer!
 
muttley000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 1,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by slief View Post
What are you going to do about the temp probe? If your going to monitor the salinity using a the Apex, you will need a temp probe in there for proper temp compensation if you want reasonable accuracy.
Hi Scott! Temp probe is in through a bulkhead in the top of the tank, I tie wrapped it to the PVC that directs flow when mixing so it doesn't get banged up. I added a T at the output of the tank and placed the probe in a strain releif fitting at the T. No leaks and worked out well.

Thanks for the help everyone!


__________________
Next step on the system is adding A 90 gallon!

Current Tank Info: 475 multitank system is now running! Several hundred gallons of additions planned!
muttley000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.