Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Old 12/30/2017, 04:49 PM   #1
Atomic081
Registered Member

What can you do with a BIG tank?

Im in the process of building a new house (roof going up next week) and have had the architect account for a 750 gallon tank. The dimensions would be 10x4x30. Im planning on building the tank out of plywood myself to save money. I build custom homes for a living and working with wood is my life. So a wood tank doesnt scare me as long as its build correct.

I see lots of 8x4x30 tanks being built from plywood because thats the size of a standard piece of plywood. I was planning on doing the 10 tank because I can get 10 plywood. I know the 8 will work but because Ive never seen a 10 Im a little scared. I dont want 750 gallons in my basement man cave.

So my question: What can I put in a 10 tank that wont go in a 8 tank? Do I be the first one to do a 10 tank or just settle for a 8?

INDMAS Member

Current Tank Info: 800 Gallon Inwall
Atomic081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/30/2017, 05:12 PM   #2
Misled
RC Mod

There may not be much you can put in a 10 that you can't put in a 8, but that really isn't the point is it? Go for the 10 now, you know that's what you want!!! You're not gonna be able to go, Honey, I want to add two more feet to the tank.

Current Tank Info: 80 gallon rimless Deep Blue lagoon under construction
Misled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/31/2017, 03:39 AM   #3
oldhead
Registered Member