Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read


Thread Tools
Old 01/02/2018, 03:51 PM   #1
Registered Member
civics14's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 207
New Marcos Rock to established reef tank

Looking to add some additional rock to the tank but not adding any “live rock” due to past experience with pest, so got me some Marcos Rock.

Since there been threads about it leaching phosphates, I’m soaking it in RO/DI and changing water every other day.

Any advice on how long I should do this to get most of the phosphates out?

SCA 150g - mixed reef

Current Tank Info: 150 gal SCA
civics14 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/02/2018, 09:05 PM   #2
Registered Member
JUNBUG361's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Antioch,CALIFORNIA
Posts: 1,045
2 to 3 weeks

JUNBUG361 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2018, 11:28 AM   #3
Registered Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Garden Grove, Ca
Posts: 16,586
Before you waste all that water making changes, I would test the water your rock is soaking in for phosphates. If there are not phosphates in the water the rocks are soaking in there is no need to make water changes. I've used Marco Rock in several aquariums and never had an issues with their rock containing phosphates although like you I initially soaked the rock in RO/DI water, but it never tested with phosphate,

thegrun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2018, 01:01 PM   #4
Registered Member.
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: auburn CA
Posts: 4,028
Originally Posted by thegrun View Post
I've used Marco Rock in several aquariums and never had an issues with their rock containing phosphates
It should have almost none in it, its rock from deep under the surface, similar to his sand.

I'm almost a decade in with his sand, no issues with phos at all

outy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2018, 01:17 PM   #5
Team RC Member
der_wille_zur_macht's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 17,633
We can't answer this question reliably. Test the water. If the phosphate level is higher than you want, continue with water changes or consider a more active method like dosing LC.

Inconveniencing marine life since 1992

"It is my personal belief that reef aquaria should be thriving communities of biodiversity, representative of their wild counterparts, and not merely collections of pretty specimens growing on tidy clean rock shelves covered in purple coralline algae." (Eric Borneman)
der_wille_zur_macht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2018, 05:39 PM   #6
Dogmatic Dinosaur
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 6,149
Some folks have few issues and some have several years worth of issues... all from the same place. You will not know until you get them.

If they have phosphate, they will be bound to the core and can take a long time to fully remove. Acid bath of freshwater soak can get some on the surface, but it won't get all of them.

jda is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 PM.

TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014