Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/30/2018, 03:38 PM   #1
tmccaffery
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 132
Which ATO?

I have a Neptune Apex and looking for a ATO.

Tunze or Neptune ATK? I see some bad reviews on Neptune ATK.

Other suggestions?

I have a redsea Max 170 if that helps no optional sump yet


tmccaffery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2018, 03:45 PM   #2
RedGabino
Registered Member
 
RedGabino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Nogales
Posts: 85
I am having a lot of problems with the ATK, I regret bought it

Enviado desde mi G8142 mediante Tapatalk


RedGabino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2018, 03:58 PM   #3
homer1475
Registered Member
 
homer1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 4,762
Just debating the same thing.

After reading quite a lot of bad reviews for the ATK, I bought the Tunze osmolator 3155.


__________________
80G SCA Build: http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2560256

Originally posted by der_wille_zur_macht:

"He's just taking his lunch to work"
homer1475 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2018, 03:59 PM   #4
lapin
Registered Member
 
lapin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Austin
Posts: 381
Tunze 3155 works great. Im going to try the apex this time around. If it is a problem I will go back to a 3155.


lapin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2018, 04:52 PM   #5
RobZilla04
Registered Member
 
RobZilla04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 1,772
Tune 3155 here as well.


__________________
90g Mixed Reef
RobZilla04 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2018, 07:16 PM   #6
LQT
Registered Member
 
LQT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 1,126
Apex user here. That said, I use a Tunze 3155 for my ATO.


__________________
- Leon (aka - Water Dog)

Working on an upgrade: Deep Blue 57 Edge ATI Acro Garden
LQT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2018, 07:25 PM   #7
mrsixstrings12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 133
I ended up going with the Apex breakout box and setting up some various float switches. I have a program for ATO and have plans on wiring up a secondary backup float for the ATO. I also have a high total water in sump float which sends an alert to me.

Having the breakout box also allows for other things like auto lights when accessing under your stand.


mrsixstrings12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2018, 08:16 PM   #8
Hitch08
Registered Member
 
Hitch08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Philly Suburbs
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by LQT View Post
Apex user here. That said, I use a Tunze 3155 for my ATO.
Same here. It just works (well, if you remember to refill the RO container).


__________________
120g tank with 40g breeder sump. SVS-30 LifeReef Skimmer. EcoTech Radion Pros.
Hitch08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2018, 08:34 PM   #9
Darryl Hey
Registered Member
 
Darryl Hey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: walden ny
Posts: 72
Tunze


Darryl Hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/31/2018, 04:27 AM   #10
cincyjim
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by LQT View Post
Apex user here. That said, I use a Tunze 3155 for my ATO.
Same same here as well... Tunze all the way!!!


__________________
Jim

Current Tank Info: SCA 150G, 5 inch sand bed, 2 Tunze 6095s, 6 lamp T5 @ 54w each with 2 all Blue Reefbrites, and Continuous Water Change System
cincyjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/31/2018, 02:08 PM   #11
ryeguyy84
Registered Member
 
ryeguyy84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsixstrings12 View Post
I ended up going with the Apex breakout box and setting up some various float switches. I have a program for ATO and have plans on wiring up a secondary backup float for the ATO. I also have a high total water in sump float which sends an alert to me.

Having the breakout box also allows for other things like auto lights when accessing under your stand.
use the BOB. The Avast Marine one is far superior to the apex version. it has 2 wires for each switch instead of jamming a couple of wires in one slot.

I have the same setup as mrsixstrings12, When I open the doors to my sump the lights come on. it's so simple but the best thing ever. I don't know about the other ATO's but the APEX with BOB can e-mail or text you if there's something wrong. like if the ATO is running for too long (as well as turn the ATO pump off)


__________________
Current tank: 90G mixed reef.

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon
ryeguyy84 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/31/2018, 02:46 PM   #12
Indymann99
Registered Member
 
Indymann99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 2,431
Apex with breakout box and floats. working great fore years.


__________________
120g DT 100lbs LR / 200 lbs LS, 45g fuge, VectraM1 Return, Herbie drain, 4x RW-8, 2x AI Hydra 26 w AWM, ASM G2, Apex controller, Apex BoB w floats ATO
Indymann99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/05/2018, 09:54 AM   #13
flawedexistence
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 32
Ato

I really like my Tunze 3155.


flawedexistence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/05/2018, 10:29 AM   #14
Sk8r
RC Mod
 
Sk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 33,119
Blog Entries: 55
On the inexpensive end, Hydor Smart Level has been reliable. A little quirky once its low-water alarm is triggered (reservoir run dry) but not too quirky. Just reset. And it's 'looser' than I like, meaning it waits longer than I would like to bring the level back up, but at the price, and in a system that is forgiving, it's been a good ATO.


__________________
Sk8r

Salinity 1.024-6; alkalinity 8.3-9.3 on KH scale; calcium 420; magnesium 1300, temp 78-80, nitrate .2. Ammonia 0. No filters: lps tank. Alk and cal won't rise if mg is low.

Current Tank Info: 105g AquaVim wedge lps reef: 3 firefish, yellowhead jawfish, yellow watchman, 3 chromis, tailspot/starry blennies, pink margin fairy wrasse, mandarin, kalk, radion pro, gyre, Eshopps s-200 skimmer, basement sump.
Sk8r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02/05/2018, 11:48 AM   #15
Civicman86
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sk8r View Post
On the inexpensive end, Hydor Smart Level has been reliable. A little quirky once its low-water alarm is triggered (reservoir run dry) but not too quirky. Just reset. And it's 'looser' than I like, meaning it waits longer than I would like to bring the level back up, but at the price, and in a system that is forgiving, it's been a good ATO.
I use the hydro and find it to be simple and easy and as sk8r said inexpensive.


__________________
-Dustin

Current Tank Info: 75G FOWL Build
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/05/2018, 11:50 AM   #16
Reef noob_
Registered Member
 
Reef noob_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: holmdel, NJ
Posts: 479
Just got a tunze 3155 used a few days ago, working great to far.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
________________________

New Build in progress http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2528685
90 gallon DT, 65 Gallon Fuge, Chinese LEDs, LPS and Soft coral reef
Reef noob_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/08/2018, 07:43 AM   #17
mitch91175
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 323
Like most, I use the Tunze 3155. Works great with little to no issues.


mitch91175 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02/08/2018, 03:07 PM   #18
AlSimmons
Registered Member
 
AlSimmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: California
Posts: 2,139
FWIW I've got an Ultralife Float Switch that's been in service for more than 15 years now without any problems. Best $100 I've ever spent.


AlSimmons is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02/08/2018, 06:36 PM   #19
saltire
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Tunze here too


saltire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:59 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.