Reef Central Online Community
The Filter Guys

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 02/05/2018, 07:16 PM   #1
Fuzms
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Oklahoma City, USA
Posts: 21
Unusable calcium

Is there such thing as bound or unusable calcium? I probably donít mean calcium bound with argonite or in skeletons or anything. More like in the water column.

Through trial and error, it seems my tank really likes very high calcium (like well over 500ppm). Things just seem to grow better. So this got me thinking, either my test kits are reading higher than the Ca actually is, or the test kits are also reading some sort of Ca in the water column that is unusable by corals, coralline, etc.

Thoughts?


Fuzms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/05/2018, 07:54 PM   #2
Reefpuck
Registered Member
 
Reefpuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 1,112
Well what test kit are you using and have you tried a different test kit yet? Are you dosing? I can't imagine you having high calcium if you're not dosing...and you dont have a lot of calcium demands in your tank already.

High calcium levels can lead to fast deposits building up on your equipment. IE your pumps and skimmer intake...which means more cleaning of the mechanicals will be required.

I'm not aware of any benefits of having too high of a calcium level...I'll let someone else chime in on that.


__________________
Josh

Current Tank Info: 90g mixed reef w/ 55g sump/fuge.
Reefpuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/05/2018, 08:33 PM   #3
bertoni
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 86,895
Calcium inside organisms or bound into organics won't be available, but they also won't show up on test kits. I don't know of anything that would confuse a calcium kit. Maybe you're seeing a coincidence, a testing issue, or perhaps some parameter like alkalinity is a bit low. A higher calcium level should make coral growth a bit easier, but I would have guessed that 500 ppm is going to be close to the upper limit if other parameters are fine. I'm not sure, though.


__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
bertoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/05/2018, 09:41 PM   #4
Fuzms
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Oklahoma City, USA
Posts: 21
@reefpuck: thanks, but I’m not worried that my Ca is high or the effects of it being high. I definitely made it that high myself. My question is more directed at the chemistry of... “free calcium”...

@beetoni: yeah, I am leaning toward not trusting my test kit. Will probably have a LFS verify. But I was also considering any other possibilities. And by more than 500ppm, I mean it tests at 800ppm. There is no “snow” there could be some crusting of my sand, but that’s about it. I know that sounds high, but my corals much prefer it. If I leave my tank at what tests at 400-450ppm, corals just kind of survive (no growth) and Coralline recedes. As a side note my alk tests at 8dKH and my ph is 8.2


Fuzms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/06/2018, 10:53 AM   #5
bertoni
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 86,895
800 ppm is high enough that I'm skeptical about something. I'm not sure what yet. I'd get second opinions on the calcium and alkalinity kits. 800 ppm is far higher than the calcium would need to be for good growth in reasonably normal water conditions.


__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
bertoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/06/2018, 11:35 AM   #6
Fuzms
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Oklahoma City, USA
Posts: 21
My thoughts too. Either the tests (or person doing the test 0.0) or, I was wondering, some sort of unusable Ca being caught on the test. Thanks for your input!


Fuzms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/06/2018, 05:54 PM   #7
bertoni
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 86,895
You're welcome! Good luck!


__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
bertoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.